Proof logo

Pairing Perfection

A pairing for you, me, anybody

By shallon gregersonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Hooray for the holidays! When the weather becomes chilly outside, cozying up to the fireplace with a pair of leggings, oversized sweater and some deliciousness to fill your tummy, is beyond satisfying. Although, I’m a summer lover at heart, winter time does have its perks.

Let’s reverse the time for a moment. A few years ago, 8 years to be exact, I changed my residence. Not a huge change, but when it comes to climate and weather, the three hour drive from central Utah, to Evanston, Wyoming, was quite shocking, to say the least. The atmosphere, the people, the jobs were quite different.

I remember the day, like it was just yesterday, when I walked into a local bar. I was searching for employment, and within ten minutes, I was a bartender. I had no experience. But my confident attitude nailed the position. I worked at this bar for a few months, and decided I wanted to work in a more classy setting. I had been told the local golf course and grille was hiring, or looking for a new bartender. I decided, why not? And like the first bar, I went inside, talked to the manager and like that, I was hired.

This is where my knowledge and taste of amazing food and wine, comes into place. This golf course, was more like a members club. Though, anyone could come in for amazing food and drinks, people could buy a membership, where they would hold golf tournaments, have member meetings, party’s and more. I served many people, from school board members, members of the judicial system. Very important members of society. It was truly an honor to serve such amazing people.

A few of my regular customers, were members of the club. They loved fine wine! I didn’t know much about wine. The customers and my co-workers, they taught me knowledge. Knowledge, that I am forever grateful for. I wasn’t and still to this day, am not a big drinker. However, I was able to taste some very top notch wine. Before I get into my absolute favorites and what I love pairing, I will share some of the things I learned, while working at this golf course club and grille.

Did you know, there are specific glasses for red and white wines? I sure didn’t! But yes, when you are thinking of drinking a glass of red wine, such as Merlot, you will have, what I called them, a short wide glass. While white whines, such as Chardonnay, is served in a tall and skinny. The glass, you don’t fill clear to the top. Also, red wines are not chilled or served cold. They sit at room temperature. White wines however, they are chilled, or are served cold. These are a couple of things, I felt like sharing. Why? Well, it’s something not everyone knows!

Now, to my favorite types of holiday pairing! Like I said in the beginning of this, winter time and the holidays can be as amazing, as a hot summer day at the beach. My favorite thing to do, when cozying up to the fire, is pick out an amazing book. Science fiction or mystery, calls for a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon or sometimes a Merlot. One glass, is typically enough for my petite self. On an appetizer dish, sliced cheddar cheese, chocolate covered almonds and mixed nuts, makes a match made in heaven! If however, wine is not sounding too charming, I will switch to some hot licorice spice tea, with sugar and a bit of honey. Either way, makes for a delicious day!

However, I love a variety. If the day calls for humor or romance, that will be the book of choice. I can’t drink red wine when reading a love story, or a comedy. No! White wines are a much better choice! Pinot Grigio or Pino Gris is my all time favorite, Italian, white wine! I can’t have a love story/comedy, or the fruity, chilled Pinot Gris, without a side of Calamari! Don’t forget, pine nuts and pistachios! Mmmhmm.

Now everyone has their own taste. And like I have said, I don’t always drink wine. If you don’t want white wine, a frappe, vanilla bean or caramel macchiato, replaces Pinot Gris,very well!

So many choices, you could pair all day! It really is up to the individual, not everyone will agree with my choice of pairings, or flavor of wine, or even what I snack on. But, I feel, you only live once! Why not try all you can? Get a taste or appetite, for all things delicious! You never know, you may be surprised. Now, I must excuse myself. All this pairing talk, has made me want a glass of Pinot Gris, and pistachios. Off to my library I go, a love story... I think so!!

wine
2

About the Creator

shallon gregerson

I conspire, create and love making my mind think

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.