Proof logo

I'm An Alcoholic

Quit offering me alcohol.

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hi, my name is Iria, I’m an alcoholic. This is a piece on why you do not offer a sober person alcohol in any manner. You do not bring alcohol to the house of an alcoholic who doesn’t want alcohol to exist on the inside of the house. This is a rule of my house. I do not drink alcohol anymore. I am no longer an alcoholic after all. I also got rid of the pot smoking boyfriend, and the pot-smoking friend who thinks that keeps her stable as a rapid cycler.

Hell hath no fury like a woman pissed off at people not taking care of themselves. I take my medication, as a result I feel good. Why feel terrible all the time? That’s what alcohol does to you. Why would I want to hang out with people drinking? Hence why I want to make money and get away from my family? Take a real vacation for myself? Go see some of my Facebook friends. Yes, I’m talking about getting out of dodge completely. This is why I need more donations. Like real income style donations.

Income I would have to report. Apparently I have not met my income goals since I spoke with my employment counselor last. This is why I need extra donations. So that I can pay up the insurance gig $200 licensing fee that I have to learn stuff with. Or perhaps I can make a lot of money copywriting. They cut you when you have some income like I have. I need to start making significant income though. This is a need.

I got an onboarding email from one English tutoring company but I need some headphones. In general, I need a new pair of headphones that can tolerate transcribing because you guys don’t want to know what my old pair of headphones lost right now, looks like. I’m getting very close to perfect diabetes and that fabled full night’s sleep. My PTSD symptoms have really gotten in the background as has my anxiety. I’m pretty stable right now. This was hard work. Alcohol can undo that stability. It also makes me do whatever the other person wants. This is a dangerous situation for somebody with real talent such as myself can be in.

I abstain from alcohol. Period. I don’t touch it. I should have never started drinking when I did due to pressure inside the family. I got my medical records and to the knowledge in the records, the heart condition I was born with has disappeared. I have an awesome prognosis. I’m a stable, healthy, and happy person. Alcohol would ruin that. Don’t let your OCD push people around with how much your OCD demands they drink. OCD requires medication and it can put you in the psych ward quite easily. This is why I don’t drink, because I would wind up hospitalized in very short order if I did something nuts. So don’t offer any alcohol to an alcoholic who wants to stay sober, otherwise they will not be spending time with the family.

I do the twelve step group thing. I’m able to continue to maintain my sobriety. What alcoholism is, is that you have no control over your drinking. I have no control over my drinking when I drink. I have a scary high tolerance too. Drinking can put me in the hospital. This is why I do not drink anymore, period. I am offended at drinkers who push other people to drink. I stay away from people like that, so hence why nobody will see me for a very long time until somebody gets it through their heads that I don’t drink anymore.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.