Pride logo

Woman

I am, I love

By Makenna BoltonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

She knew their beauty

The precious power these creatures held

Versatile and unique

Fearsome dragons

Delicate fairies

Innocent and bold

They are superior

She was always enchanted

But she suppressed herself.

Onto the smooth and steady course of the allegiance she cast over herself

Haunted by her own conjuring thoughts

A mysterious flame burnt her soul

A puzzle she was too afraid to solve

Fearing the image of herself

How would others paint her

She’s known all along

This discovery is not new

It has been buried and hidden

Only now dug up

Never thought to question

Already familiar with the answer

But soon her fear converted to pride

A pride to which she held onto as a part of her identity

A piece of the puzzle her soul had long hungered for

Her closet was free of the skeleton

Who once roamed the space

These enchanting, majestic beings.

She was one of them

You see her now

She keeps her mouth shut

Her eyes gazing onward

Ears sitting on each of her sides

She sits with posture and poise

Dressed in fabric forced to look modest

Her face is painted

Body decorated with gold

Whilst her hair lay brushed with its carmel glow

She looks clean

She looks nice

She looks boring

You see her there

But do you really see her?

My lips are closed, for I have nothing to say

But when I want to be heard

I will speak with intent and I will speak loud

My eyes gaze upon whatever I find beautiful or worth looking at

My attention goes where I direct it

My ears listen intently as I observe, I hear gossip, tales, and information worth my knowledge

I sit comfortably on my throne

Moving about as I wish

With grace and power

I am dressed in clothing

Insulting the public eye

Feeling divine in my own

I wear it with pride and artistry

My eyes bare the weight of the paint we apply to enhance our beauty, not to hide it

But, tomorrow my face will be bare

I shall walk the earth with naked, raw, beautiful skin

Cold, ice decorates my ears, neck, and wrist

I feel confident

I feel bold

Sometimes I like it

Sometimes I don’t

My hair has been cleansed and softened to the root

It is silky and fair to look at

But it isn’t always a sight

Most days it hangs dead from my head

Like the leaves of a weeping willow

Based on my appearance you may think I act a certain way

I am kind

I am powerful

I am strong

I am queer

What you notice on the outside is just a mirage, of an image drawn in your own mind

You won’t really take into account who you truly think I am

You’ll dawn upon my beauty, and the treasures I display

Thinking about what person I may be

You make your assumptions and never really care

But there is a mystery within

When you look at someone

Do you ever stop to wonder

What music makes them dance?

Where do they sleep?

Are they a kindred spirit?

Or are they a creep?

Perhaps next time you pass by

A raw human like yourself

Think of what makes them human

Instead of a prize to be put on a shelf

No matter the fabric or jewelry my body may hold

It is never that which tells my story

For I am a woman and I am overlooked

But alas I shall go on living a lie, for you stopped listening when I muttered hi.

EmpowermentIdentityPride Month
1

About the Creator

Makenna Bolton

Hi! My name is Makenna Bolton, I am 20 years old. I grew up in Wisconsin and in June I graduated from the American Musical and Dramatic Academy in LA; with an Associates in Dance and Theatre. As well as writing, I love acting, and dancing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.