Pride logo

The K-Pop Scandal Update

The finishing touches on my book.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
4
Pictures generated from Vocal’s Discord Server

I’ve been trying to market my book called The K-Pop Scandal for a while. I am not sure when it will be published, but it is going through some final stages touches. I’ve had a lot of fun with story and thanks to Publishizer, I feel more confident to share my book out to the world when it is ready to. I joined Vocal’s Discord server and tried out the /imagine command to generate some images. The prompt I used was: a male k-pop duo celebrate pride in concert. Some of the images looked quirky, whilst others are hilarious like this one below.

The K-Pop Scandal is about a fictional duo who pretend to be a couple under their management’s orders, but it gets complicated when one of them falls in love with the other. Questions about the age gap also come into play. Add the addition of cynical journalists and devout fans, you’ve got a crazy mix.

Everytime I think I am finished, I want to add more to the story. Things like extra dialogue and little scenes here and there. A lot of the side characters have already tried taking over. I’ve also looked up some videos about the music industry that scare me. Whilst I am no expert in the music industry, I feel the more I know the better I can make this book.

The faces look scary and one of them only has two fingers.

Even though I am not the biggest fan of Tiktok, I went back on it just to promote my book. Each video on average gets 200 views. Not a lot, but better than nothing. My favourite videos to do were the TikTok questions and the character profiles.

I had some fun creating videos on Canva. I even made the book cover on Canva. I thought the graphics in stock were really cute. Even though a lot of the AI stuff outshines my Canva book cover, I will most likely not use these AI ones. I don’t know what the copyright situation will be like, and I think I am better using these AI images for my own personal entertainment and nothing else. I’ve heard that they are safe to use and are copyright free, but this can change at anytime.

No preorders yet, but it’s nice to see that the sites believe in me enough still have my book featured. A lot of the marketing and gifts for preorders is on me, so I would feel like I am cheating giving them something that AI made in five minutes. I don’t outright condone AI, as it’s been around for years, but it would feel more special if I did the work with my own hands, even if it is on Canva.

I think this one turned out better than other AI pics. I love the anime style. According to my campaign site, a publisher is already interested. I won’t know until the campaign is over. I want to keep my options open though. I wonder if the publisher is a hybrid one or a vanity press. I did get an offer before the campaign being made by a hybrid publisher. They never told me the fees, but further research told me that the fees were too high. I don’t want to pay thousands for something I can either easily do myself for free or I could hire somebody to do for a fraction of the price.

Just a few more days left to preorder, but I might be able to extend the campaign. Wattys is around the corner, and I hope to submit The K- Pop Scandal. Wattys is one of the biggest writing contests on the internet which is hosted by Wattpad.

Pop Culture
4

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Simona Rosso11 months ago

    Best of luck with the release!

  • ❤️📝

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    A very interesting tale that I want to know more about. Thank you for this one...and the links!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.