Pride logo

Songs From My Queer Life That Speak To Me

My ultimate LGBT anthems playlist

By Theo RandallPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1

Dancing Queen - ABBA

"Dancing queen, only seventeen"

ABBA is a key band to include on any LGBT playlist. While their lyrics may not exactly describe queer experiences, they have always been icons. This is partly contributed to their out of the box, 'campy' style. The use of the term "Queen" in the song can also easily be interpreted as the queer term originally used to refer to a flamboyant, effeminate gay man.

While in the 80's it wasn't widely accepted to be out and proud, many LGBT people relied on pop culture as a form of escapism Additionally, this song makes you want to dance your ass off like the queen you are! Combined, this makes ABBA a playlist necessity.

Lgbt - cupcakKe

"Don't judge a lesbian, 'cause she don't want you back, man , judge one of the gays, they drag you from Z to A, and shout out to the bi's, you ain't gotta pick a side, and if you in the closet, shorty, you ain't gotta hide"

CupcakKe is a rap artist who includes themes such as LGBT and female empowerment in her songs. About this song she stated that it was "strictly for the LGBT community to know that they are loved and don't need to feel judged." This is evident in the lyrics of her song, even combating biphobia within the LGBT community with her line regarding the Bisexual community not needing to pick a side.

This song truly succeeds as a hype track for the LGBT community and can turn your day around for the better after listening to it full volume.

Let's Have a Kiki - Scissor Sisters

"So I had to put on the wigs and the heels , and the lashes and the hair , and take the train to the club"

Scissor sisters is a queer musical group who gets their name from the term referring to a stereotypical lesbian sexual act. The song, itself, seems to follow a drag queen whose night out has been ruined so they are going to their friend's house to have a kiki. This term refers to a get together to discuss the tea/drama, coined by the gay community.

This is a song that you can scream along to in your car or on the dance floor, feeling like you are on this journey with them and just having a blast with your friends.

Born This Way - Lady Gaga

"No matter gay, straight, or bi, lesbian, transgendered life, I'm on the right track baby, I was born to survive."

Not only did Lady Gaga write this song as an anthem of acceptance to the LGBT community, she has always been a staunch supporter of the community in her everyday life and career as well. This absolute bop was becoming popularized around the time that I was coming out and it definitely helped me come to terms with who I am now. Now I can listen to it with fond memories and enjoy the incredible vocal stylings of the Mother Monster.

Bad Reputation - Joan Jett & The Blackhearts

"I don't give a damn 'bout my reputation , I've never been afraid of any deviation , an' I don't really care if you think I'm strange , I ain't gonna change"

This song is a big fuck you to the older generation that claims that being a member of the LGBT community is wrong, evil, or deviant. Joan Jett is the anti-establishment, queer icon everyone needs in their life. Not only does the song rock hard, sometimes you just need to be reminded to give a big middle finger to anyone who goes against who you are and forget about them. My favorite way to do this is with my windows down for the whole world to hear.

Fergalicious - Fergie

"All the time I turn around brothas gather 'round , always looking at me up and down looking at my (uh)-"

Ask any queer person to complete that lyric and I guarantee you they could, and with some extra spice thrown in. I am uncertain as to why this is but alas, it is true. Therefore, any song that can make a roomful of gay men sing along definitely belongs on the list...just TRY not to sing with them!

Faggot - Mindless Self Indulgence

"Instead of being just another faggot like I am , I played that shit straight"

This song recounts a person's regret for not coming out sooner, as they feel that they are not unable to get back the time they missed and the sex they could have been having. At the same time the repetition of the word 'faggot,' traditionally used as a slur for members of the LGBT community, helps to solidify its shift in to being reclaimed by the community as a term to describe ourselves and to empower ourselves.

It helped me to get over the initial shock and begin to reclaim the word for myself by blasting the song and screaming "FAGGOT, FAGGOT, FAGGOT" along with the lyrics. It serves as a personal fuck you to all of my middle school bullies.

Heaven is a Place on Earth - Belinda Carlisle

"In this world, we're just beginnin', to understand the miracle of livin' , baby, I was afraid before , but I'm not afraid anymore"

I remember very vividly hearing about the episode of Black Mirror that features this song. A tragic love story of two elderly lesbians meeting in a virtual world and living a second life before they both pass away together. That episode will always make my cry and this song reminds me of the genuine love that I saw depicted by two queer characters for one of the first times in my life. Although it does not fit with my other songs to rock out to, the playlist would not be complete without it.

Believe - Cher

"Do you believe in life after love?"

This is another one of those Fergalicious moments, another song that almost anybody in the queer community with belt out, off key, at the top of their lungs in the club. Cher has always been an icon within the queer community due to her incredible talent. flamboyant styles, and unwavering support for the LGBT community throughout her career. It is only fitting that her song of strength is included in my playlist.

Girls in Bikinis - Poppy

"Girls in bikinis on roller skates, in outer space...I wanna see boys in bikinis too, they'd look good on you"

Poppy took the internet by storm with her creepy doll like videos back in the 2010s, but she exploded on TikTok during the summer of 2020, resulting in every queer being inspired to buy their own pair of roller skates like the song describes. One of my all time favorite lines in this song is the line referring to men in bikinis. I read this as incredibly inclusive to Trans men who may have breasts or wear a bikini, it helps to normalize the wearing of what is typically considered 'women's' clothing by non-women using a very mainstream media.

It's true , though, it will make you want to grab your skate and a bikini to roll around the boardwalk, catching every eye in the vicinity with no fear.

Girl I Met On The Internet - GIRLI

"It'll happen like it does in the shows , I'll like her eyes and she'll like my clothes , ask her for her digits and I'll start to sweat , she'll become the girl that I met on the internet"

Not only are the electronic melodies of this song mesmerizing, the song itself explains an experience than many small town queer people have during their adolescence into young adult hood. It is difficult to find a partner or crush when you are surrounded by straight conservative people, so, many resort to the internet. The curated spaces of the world wide web allow for you to find friends on sites specifically tailored to your interests, making it easier to find someone not only who is also a member of the LGBT community but who also has similar interests as you.

I Kissed a Girl - Katy Perry

"It's not what good girls do , not how they should behave , my head gets so confused , hard to obey"

Now, where would I be without the song that my parents thought would 'turn me gay' if I listened to it...well look at me now! Lyrics that were once sang as a joke became all to real for young me, making this song one filled with nostalgia. It brings back the silly, conflicting feeling of before you realize you were gay, then the epiphany that initiated your coming out. As the cherry on top, this song is one that you can belt on your way home from work and forget everything that troubled you that day.

Life on Mars? - David Bowie

"But the film is a saddening bore , 'cause I wrote it ten times or more , it's about to be writ again"

Not only is David Bowie the source of my gender envy, he was always and will always be a queer icon. This being said, almost any of his music could be added to this playlist but I have specifically chosen this one. Not only is the melody one of my favorite of all time it is a commentary on the monotony and blandness of everyday life and the repetition of history. The opposite of what Bowie was trying to do with his persona and career. LGBT people are after seen as existing outside the norm, making this song very relatable to many.

Identity
1

About the Creator

Theo Randall

Trans/Queer (they/them) quilt pattern designer based in Grand Rapids, MI

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.