Pride logo

Snowy nights

Just two women enjoying their night alone

By And I am NightmarePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Snowy nights
Photo by Ian Keefe on Unsplash

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin.

I glanced over at my wife- her Russian faux coat brushing up against her jawline, those calm blue eyes flickering with a contained fire as she marveled out at the snowy dawn. I would never get over how beautiful she is, how lucky a woman I was to have been married to her.

I returned my eyes to the alabaster landscape, pulling the car into park as I stopped in the ice covered driveway.

It wasn’t the first time we’d visited the cabin.

It held more than snow covered mornings huddled together under blankets, more than hot chocolate filled evenings, a struggle to keep each other warm by the fire. It was more than a beautiful getaway resort, more than a cabin in the woods. For us, it held memories.

I pushed open my car door and stepped out, steadying my black boots on the ice before making my way round to help her out of her side.

She gave a small gasp of surprise as her white fur boots connected with the slick ice coating the concrete driveway.

Our hands intertwined subconsciously, each supporting the other with love and grace.

We made our way into the wooden cabin, shaking flakes of snow from our boots and relaxing as the warmth and scent of Cedar and Fir hit us.

I inhaled softly, tilting back my head, and Camilla giggled. I felt a hand reach up and gently scratch the top of my scalp.

“Shall we go?”

The sound of her crystal voice woke me from the comforting trance I had set myself in, and I smiled. Although my heart was brimming with joy, I simply gave her a nonchalant nod, as if her elegant hand pressed against mine was not the only thing I could possible think about at the moment. But she knew.

She always knew.

We ventured into the cabin, letting our fingers and toes defrost as we gently tugged off our gloves and boots.

“Better?”

Camilla simply nodded in return, brushing a lock of dark hair from her face, seeming to grow frustrated when it returned to its spot hovering above her eyes. I lent a helping hand, letting one of my painted nails tuck it behind her ear.

We sat still for a few moments, starring lovingly into each other’s eyes before we both glanced away, half opening our mouths as if we wanted to speak and break the silence, or the more likely possibility of wanting to let the intimate moment escalate into passionate kissing.

However, we’d barely arrived at the cabin, so I stood.

“Cocoa?”

“Please.” Camilla responded, her voice brushing past my ears like a silk butterfly. I smiled briefly, entering the tiny kitchen with its hard wood countertops and tiny Fire stove. I opened the cupboard above me, delighted to find complimentary chocolate and roses left inside. Perhaps a surprise for Camilla later.

I picked my bag up from the table, tugging down the zipper and letting my hands search for a few moments.

I finally found the items I needed and pulled them out. I set a chocolate bar on the counter, along with our matching porcelain mugs and crushed candy canes.

I broke the chocolate into rich squares, pressing them to the bottom of our cups. I set the stove to heat as I began to prepare the milk.

Camilla hooked me noting after, teasing me with a kiss on behind my ear as she appeared behind me.

“Julieee…” she dragged out the word, like there was something special about it, and it made my heart spark.

“Cam.” I turned my face to hide my rose blush, tracing a calloused thumb over soft skin.

Camilla made a popping noise with her mouth. “What’re you makin’?” Her Norwegian accent decided to shine, the way it did when she was relaxed.

“Cocoa. You said you wanted some.”

Another silky giggle. “Did I?”

“Mhm.” I hummed an answer and she laid her head on my shoulder.

“I love you.”

“I love you too.”

Relationships
Like

About the Creator

And I am Nightmare

I am a budding writer, and still only a teen. I love any support that comes my way. I am also a Dark Empath, psychologist in training, and baker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.