Pride logo

Silent Cries A Memoir,

By Brent Seheult

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

In December 2019 I released the above named memoir on Amazon.com. I used a pen name and used fictional names for all of relatives for legality purposes..

I was worried about the book not being well received given it’s content. Some reviewers have likened it to the book A Child Called It.

When I wrote the book I was trying to figure out if I was going to soften the blow for the reader or just put it out there and see what happened. Despite all of my misgivings I didn’t sugar coat anything. I didn’t hold anything back.

I figure as a writer if we can’t shock some people’s consciousness with our books or writings then why have the first amendment.

I tried to advertise using my first book trailer that was made and Facebook took exception to it so now I am banned from advertising my book. For violating standards. When I used my book trailer on Amazon, I met the same opposition.

I turned to companies that would put my book out there amongst readers and I was finally able with the help of my boyfriend and his brother get a partial advertising program going.

Since my book business page is banned by Facebook I set up two new business pages. One for my writings on medium, vocal etc and one for my photography business.

I originally said I wouldn’t use this or any other of my writing platforms to promote my book. But I see now I really do need too.

The book has 91 reviews on Amazon and I have a 4.3 star rating.

Product Description

From author Brent Seheult comes a first-hand account of abuse during his turbulent childhood as a young queer. Brent was a typical boy who just wanted to be loved and accepted, but despite his every attempt to gain their approval, his parents made him constantly aware of their dislike of him. At school, Brent tried hard to hide his bruised and battered body from watchful eyes, but he also carried with him the guilt and shame of being molested by a close female relative. After his parents’ divorce, his mother commonly referred to him as “queer boy” while her boyfriends attempted use him for their own sexual pleasure. And when he refused, Brent would suffer their abuse even further. While suffering in and out of foster care, Brent was caught between a system that couldn’t protect him and two parents who didn’t care. When Brent does eventually find love, his parents cannot accept that he’s attracted to other boys. Brent fought for acceptance his entire life, but did he ever receive it?

From Inside The Cover

Childhood is the most fascinating time that creates memories of happiness. A period of life that sparkles innocence,bearing wander. My memories of childhood, however, began with that fateful day when my uncle's sister Mollie molested me. I was barely five years old.

Maybe I was cursed, or maybe I was simply destined to endure those traumas. But that day marked the beginning of an entire childhood of sexual abuse. Before the end of the first decade of my life, my bedroom was already a revolving door for women and men alike, coming and going and using me for their own pervasive sexual pleasure.

Shame was my most powerful companion. Sexual abuse was my saving Grace as that was the only thing that I knew in which kept me alive. Did you see that? Could you believe that the beginning of the world for me was to simply survive being someone's sex toy?

Link

Silent Cries: A Memoir https://www.amazon.com/dp/B082FVWVWH/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_W4S0ZV8R882VYWA4YCGQ

Review by Zara

Reviewed in the United States on July 10, 2021

I will be honest, couldn't finish this book. The abuse and mental challenges presented here were just more than what I could read for an extended time. This being said, the writing is great and if you're in a better headspace than me at the moment, you should definitely go for it.

Review #2

Brent Seheult depicts the events of his life shaped by the years of abuse throughout his childhood in the 60s and 70s with the willing blind eye of his own mother. Through various encounters with family members and men his mother frequented, Brent finds himself without an ally as he is faced with continuous seductions as a child that help him embrace his life as a gay man as he seeks out the attention he initially has no protection from. This memoir is sad, but also details the ease that the predators are given when parental guardians are look for attention for themselves as well. Brutally frank and honest, beware, but must read.

Review # 3

Reviewed in the United States on June 7, 2021

The author is brave. This is is a raw memoir on the author's abusive childhood. The author details his life of sexual abuse. then shares how he overcame the trauma to be the adult that he is today. It's difficult to read at times due to the explicit details, but I commend the author for sharing his story and I hope that he found a sense of relief in sharing.

1 star is removed because of poor editing and grammar of the book. Still an improtant read

Just to let any potential book writer know. I paid $1,500 for an editor and I am still getting remarks about editing.

50

Empowerment
Like

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.