Pride logo

Play It For Pride

Cause we're stilling standing

By Ivy.WPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Play It For Pride
Photo by Isi Parente on Unsplash

You'd figure in the 21st century, our society would have progressed further in creating a safer foundation for the LGBTQIA+ community. Yet it appears that parts of the world don't understand, and still believe whatever outdated knowledge that singles out our community from humanity. Gender or sexuality can't be defined so plainly like black and white, when there is a meaty grey spectrum that needs more exploring.

I am the first Canadian generation in my Chinese-Vietnamese family, and was expected to be born as a boy. Surprising yet disappointing birth when I was nothing but another girl.

My folks are traditionists confined in their narrow-minded view, that males or masculinity attributes are superior. In a family full of nothing but feminine essences, I was the modern time Mulan, fighting to prove that I was enough. It was a tug-a-war placed on me to "be a strong man" and "obedient and pretty woman". Only difference Mulan had going for her was loving parents, fire-breathing miniature dragon, and became a heroine for saving China. Not this modern maiden, I don't even have wicked ancestors to send me a help!

Be more masculine

Be more feminine

Why, oh why do we have only 2 choices in this grey-scale world? It's ridiculous!

In celebration of Pride and the continuing battle for our community, here is my playlist that journeys to progression.

Reflection - Christina Aguilera

Mulan 2020 Verison

I still well up tears when I listen or sing this song. Not merely because Mulan hits close to home and Christina is a brilliant songstress, but it resonates to such vast levels of depth. Haven't we felt that looking in the mirror, we question the person staring back? Baggage of gender expectations and confinement of what society justifies as "acceptable". This song challenges myself over and over again what my true identity is, regardless of what gender roles I had to play pretend. Reflection always sets me free from the trauma and chains of gender confinement.

Vogue - Madonna

Supermodel (You Better Work) - RuPaul

Pose, Pose, Strike a Pose!

It's not about what you wear, but how you walk that runway darling! Classic songs that anybody who hears them will have an urge to give supermodel realness. One of the freest things about our community is the confidence to make anything worn look fashionable. Killer confidence is what many people long to possess. Madonna and RuPaul are both fairy godmothers of confidence. Every time I hear these classics, it's like they waved their wands and grant me a little bit of fearlessness. That's magic.

Katy Perry - Daisies (Can't Cancel Pride)

The bubbly Katy Perry is a worthy ally our community. She is as campy and vibrate as a drag performer, and I live for it. Katy has made many memorable and fun songs. "I Kissed a Girl", "Peacock", "Walking On Air ... So why not make a mashup of them? She released this upbeat house mix in 2020 for the Can't Cancel Pride Concert. It's refreshing to hear a new song with whispers of the her previous catchy songs.

Ava Max - Kings & Queens

So Am I - Ava Max

This rising star is killing it.

My latest addiction song is top charting Kings & Queens. It's acknowledging bad ass hero-like women, but I actually think this song is really talking about drag queens! I miss going to drag shows and really interacting with performers. Spilling the tea, cutting sassy jokes, and really having a good time amongst like-minded, good people. Many times I feel like I'm on my own in my gender identity, and alone. So Am I is one those songs that kind of unifies each other, that we are kind of weird but amazing. We all wanted be accepted for who we are, and find our tribe to help us hone the best version of ourselves. It's quite wonderful that our chosen family has such impact to help and save a life. This song rejoices finding LGBTQIA+ friends, family or even an ally to reassure it's perfectly natural, to be different.

Do you ever feel like a misfit?

Everything inside you is dark and twisted

Oh, but it's okay to be different

'Cause baby, so am I

Jim Yosef - Forces (feat. Ivan Jamile & Kédo rebelle)

Castles and dragons

The battle begins tonight

Are you with me?

This is our kingdom

And we won't run

Tonight, we are a team

I love many kinds of music, but I have a soft spot for Melodic EDM. NoCopyrightSounds or NSC supports independent EDM artists and opened up a wider world for easy listening to epic EDM. This upbeat, gamer track is light, airy and joyful. It's PECFECT. Still growing, expanding, and breaking down the walls for our community. We are stronger if we join forces like the Avengers to keep fighting to be heard and accepted to society.

MNEK - Colour (Official Video) ft. Hailee Steinfeld

MNEK - Colour (Cahill Remix) ft. Hailee Steinfeld

MNEK is queer advocate, helping young LGBTQIA+ recording artist to find haven to work in the music industry. Colour is an expression of love to the vibrate people in our life. Given or chosen family, this love song is gratitude to our allies, and queer icons that inspires not be afraid of the light, and allowed us to be ourselves. I think within our community, we learn more and more about our identity. Really, we are giving each other more vibrancy, knowledge, perspective and influencing what is between the lines of gender and sexuality.

We're All Different, Yet The Same - Jolin Tsai

Many parts of the world are still struggling to accept LGBTQIA+ community, like some of the more traditionally countries.

Jolin Tsai is one of the reigning goddess of Chinese Pop music, and a Asia's gay icon. The music video is actually based on a true story that her director, Leste Chen. A sad reality for many in Asia that same-sex marriage is not legal. Lovers heartbroken to not be allowed to be together openly and freely. A human right that we have right to wed, live together, and be there for each other in critically times. This song is the slow dance of holding our loved ones in our arms, and being together with no judgement.

The Pandemic may be still goings, but Pride will never die. For a finale, the British queer king himself, Elton John. Keep standing, never ever apologize for being your true self, and celebrate what life has to offer. Life is too short, so keep being bold and beautiful like the waving rainbow flag.

I'm Still Standing - Elton John

Community
2

About the Creator

Ivy.W

Writer with a humorist personality. Storyteller, comedic, and enjoys quirky subjects to write. Whether expressing personal experiences or geeky homages of my obsessions, I write to get my fix of creativity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.