Pride logo

(not) what you want me to be

a nonbinary poem about resisting transnormativity

By mx. j. nyla mcneillPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
"what do you want me to be?" digital. j. nyla mcneill. 2016.

I am the kid trans and cis folks don’t want to deal with

I have changed my name at least eight times, and each one is/is not correct

Transition then de-transition then transition again

I am the point at which "switching" is incomprehensible,

a position in which I am/am not sexed

I am purposely hard to read as is this prose,

I am night-time LED screens’

Red-eyed hairy-lipped identity-making political meme-machine victim

I am what the YouTube comments read on the TRANS-TRENDER clickbait

what the doctors want what the report to say,

what the TSA guesses,

what you want me to be, that is,

if and only if you want me to be,

if not impossible

I am the one you that didn’t want to see die on Trans Day of Remembrance

(I abject, therefore I am not)

I am one and at once still here I am still here I am still here I am still here I am

Identity
2

About the Creator

mx. j. nyla mcneill

mx. j. nyla mcneill is a Black-pinxy, queer and trans polymath.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Delaney-Howe2 months ago

    I love that you told your story in the form of a poem. We featured your poem in our new Facebook group for Queer voices on vocal.

  • ang nov2 years ago

    love the last line <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.