Pride logo

My Coming... OUT Story, Yes Im a LESBIANN

LGBTQ

By Shelby smith 💖 Published 2 years ago • 3 min read
3
My Coming... OUT Story, Yes Im a LESBIANN
Photo by Cecilie Johnsen on Unsplash

I knew at 13 ( in 2010 ) that something wasn't right or normal about me and I wasn't interested in boys like the other girls In my classes or year. It just didn't phase me one bit, I know I had lots of celebrity girl Crushes but come on guys we all have them, but I didn't think anything of it. I decided to go out with this lad called josh to shut all the girls up in my year about me the only in our group of friendships we all had and me being the only one not having a boyfriend but I didn't feel anything, apart from a good friendship and I knew then I was gay and liked girls and then I kept it to myself for a good few years and kept forcing myself to like boys because I thought being gay was wrong and wasn't normal. And in the end I just excepted it, it took awhile but I got there. And eventually, in 2013, I told my parents and I can still remember to this day how I came out to my mum: she was hoovering in the conservatory and I went in and turned the Hoover off and just blurted it out. "Mom, I'm gay" she said what? I said "you heard me I said I'm gay" and that was it I ran upstairs and my mum was like oh it's a phase it will just pass because in that year our family was in a bad place...my mum lost a son and I lost a brother so she thought nothing of it thinking my head was all over the place and I was just confused and grieving and all the other stuff a death brings And being it was the first person close to me I had lost because I've still got both sides of the family's grandparents and so on so it was a big shock to the system and so my mum just thought it would pass and my dad well he doesn't give a shit about anything really. He's so laxy-daisy and always in fucking cook coo land and my grandparents they except it because it's who I am but every time I get a girlfriend they say she's my friend and my Nan bless her she will never get her head around it, most days, like she did today she said "JJ, why don't you just dress up nicely and go and find a nice boy" and I'm like "because I don't want too. I'm gay end of." And she hates that I react that way but when she says it most days it gets annoying, haha but at the same time, she likes to see me happy so she just accepts it. And when my grandad asks about my girlfriend he says "where's your hoppo today babe?" and I say she's either at home or at work and he just smiles at me. I just think it's the older generation they think it's wrong and always will be wrong because they was brought up in a generation where being gay was wrong and frowned upon and was hardly known about or it was kept a secret in Their day and age. Anyway enough about my family haha and finally in July 2013 I got my very first girlfriend and I told my mum about it...and she didn't talk to me for a week, I guess she had to get her head around it all...and when my mum saw me kiss a girl for the first time she looked away in disgust. but 3 years later. She's more than fine with it and accepts it and she doesn't care who I'm with or who I date as long as her daughter is happy. And I'm so glad I've got such an accepting and caring family who just want to see me happy and love me for exactly who I am. And I know some people's parents disown them for loving the same sex and it shouldn't matter if you love the same sex or the opposite sex. As long as your child is happy and healthy should it really matter who your child loves? All you want is your child to be happy and healthy in life nothing else.

Identity
3

About the Creator

Shelby smith 💖

25, Aspiring traveler, Im apart Of The (L)GBTQ+ comm & I also have ADHD & Mental Health. I love to travel and be around Horses. lifestyle blog basically!!

Writing is my passion, my escape out of this so called "world" we call Life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.