Pride logo

Kathy Griffin

Did She Ever Play Red light/Green Light?

By P. B. FriedmanPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Kathy Griffin
Photo by Jonatan Pie on Unsplash

I finally came across a couple of news items I can justify typing about; somewhat. Neither of them interest me a whole lot. Laurel Hubbard of New Zealand appears to be the less newsworthy of the two; she is a transgender power lifter, if I understand correctly. I don't think you'd mistake her for being exceptionally photogenic; moreover she is not doing a great deal as an Olympian. Maybe were she non binary things would be slightly different. Still, give credit where it is due; she is perhaps breaking ground. A prevailing opinion seems to be that in non contact sports this type of athlete cannot risk injuring anyone but herself and ought to be allowed to compete.

I cannot figure out or pinpoint exactly what it is that is making me draw mostly a blank insofar as the fairly stellar career of Comedienne Kathy Griffin goes. Things may come back to me regarding Mrs. Griffin assuming that she remains in the news long enough. Mostly what I recall, sort of similarly to Teri Hatcher is that she briefly guest starred on Seinfeld.

I know I have no business quoting Mr. J. Carrey, much less Dave Letterman. Then again I'd probably be referring to scriptwriters anyway being as how each has ostensibly derived from these people over the years. That is not to say that Mr. Dave didn't really suggest that Jerry was the most derivative colleague/fellow comedian he knew of or that Jim never said the words Somebody stop me.

When I think of Ms. Kathy Griffin somehow I am reminded of the former Kathie Lee Epstein for no apparent reason that comes to mind. Ms. Griffin showcased herself briefly courtesy of Jerry and the gang as did many other entertainment notables. The somewhat surreal Jerry show produced several or more successful alumni including partner Mr. Larry David. David and Julia Louise Dreyfus would seem to be the most successful graduates based upon their starring in their own shows afterward. Then again Hatcher, Griffin and at least one other guest went on to act in hit shows as well.

What put Griffin in the news recently happens to be her being diagnosed with a treatable form of lung cancer. Ironically, Ms. Griffin claims to be a non smoker who until her fifties was for the most part also a teetotaler. An elbow injury supposedly led her to depend upon painkilling medication that ultimately led her to feel suicidal. Being as how the most limited audience imaginable reads what I type here I don't guess any celebrity is likely to see any use to file a slander suit anytime soon. With this in mind, something encourages me to take the chance that my recollection of her as I recall self titled show was not necessarily indicative of pure heterosexuality. Maybe she's simply that good and accomplished an actor or like a lot of us, married but not...well, who knows? It's definitely her business and Comediennes do need to be chameleons.

My recollection of KG's guest appearance ( wasn't she in more than one episode? ) for JS is foggy; mostly she was given the role of a parasitic young person out to be a female Don Rickles of sorts, i.e. attempt to gain notoriety mostly or partially at least by being hyper critical of a single entertainer. Something worked for Rickles above and beyond pure insult humor but the conflict between Jerry and Kathy petered out when Jerry attempted to quit giving her material by refusing to talk with her.

I don't know why Ms. Griffin hasn't impacted me personally more than it seems she has; maybe I just generally have limited knowledge of lady Comediennes. Maybe she would have more impact were I to read about her having had a family outside of her mother, husband, etcetera. I cannot name a single movie she's appeared in; I assume she's been on the View although I haven't a clue as to whether or not she's been bickering there on a level with Joy Behar, Star Jones. If you don't dish the dirt like the rest of the girls maybe you're never regarded in quite their league. There's something substantial about a Rosie O'Donnell, say, due to the fact that she's a parental figure when she goes home. The same went for, one supposes a Barbara Walters type.

Were I to interview Ms. G 1 question I might have would be did you ever play Red Light/Green Light as a kid, like we did in suburban Jersey. This would be my attempt at lighthearted patter, designed to make a celebrity guest comfortable.

Advocacy
Like

About the Creator

P. B. Friedman

Touch magazine profile. My name is Paul Friedman and I write off. The wall poems, which people don't like and good ones that they do. I'm a sports freak.

The last sentence no longer holds true. My interests are dominated by feminism.

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.