Pride logo

June is Pride Month

This will be my first pride parade

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Three years ago Giorgia Borg sung this song on Britain's Got Talent and earned a golden buzzer. This ten year old girl is being raised by two mothers, which I could care less because I am gay.

Giorgia sung this as an original song which means she wrote this song. This song when I listened to it, took me back to the days in which I was a young gay boy growing up in Roanoke, Virginia. I was growing up during the 1960's and 1970's. My first lover was my mothers boy friend.

After I was caught my mother started referring to me a queer boy. In her song 10, Giorgia says "just because I'm young doesn't mean I don't mean what I say." She also eludes to the fact that "it hurts when you look the other way." This song is referring to my childhood, except for it's about fifty-one years too late.

When I was growing up I was told a child was to be seen and not heard. If the adults were talking, we had to keep our mouths shut, sit there and listen. I can see how she still feels this way. But what else could she be referring too? Yes, most kids today have more input into what happens but some still don't. My grand children feel like this as well.

But why would a song written fifty-one years after when I was ten really make me stop and think. It has to do with I was never heard as a child. My parents never talked too me, they talked at me. The only time it seemed like I was noticed is when I was in trouble.

If someone had put me in touch with adult gay men back when I was a kid maybe this year wouldn't be my first pride event. If my mother had listened to me, saw me, and not look through me because I was young, things might have been different.

The people who did listen too me were good people, but had ulterior motives for me. Since I didn't know or recognize those signs, I was easy prey. I still needed someone to protect me and guide me home as this song implies. Having aunts and uncles who were around but not full time, still made it a little rough. My uncle that was my favorite one, he would protect me a lot especially later in life. My aunt who was nine when I was born, she had me in foster care whenever I was removed by social services and they needed me placed. She also, helped me with my boyfriends. She also kept my love for boys a secret. She knew I was gay and kept it to herself. She despised my mother for her maltreatment of me.

This song is very well written for a ten year old girl. I hope it becomes a major hit for her. Why am I tying this song to pride month? Her parents are lesbians and she is probably deeply involved in the LGBTQ community.

Most kids who are raised by two mothers or two fathers today has an advantage in they are more accepting, understanding and tolerant of others. Today, with the laws being changed to what they are, gays feel more comfortable in their skin.

The United States has come a long way with gay rights, since the uprising at Stonewall. But we still have a long way to go. Kids are still being rejected by homophobic parents. That is a sting that hurts for a very long time. To me every day should be a pride celebration, just like everyday should be veterans day. I can't wait to celebrate my first pride parade and pride fest.

Identity
1

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • stephanie cetoute2 years ago

    well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.