Pride logo

Is Everything Alright? Predicting What Happens After The Series Finale Of 'Love, Victor'

Victor's adventures at Creekwood might be over, but what happened to everyone?

By Jenika EnochPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
'Love, Victor' [Hulu]

**This article contains spoilers for season 3 of the Hulu series, 'Love, Victor'**

Love, Victor debuted on Hulu back in 2020 and serves as a follow-up to the 2018 LGBTQ+ film, Love, Simon. The show exists in the same world and follows Victor, a Latino teen who comes to terms with his sexuality after moving to Georgia from Texas. In the show's three seasons, we've had a lot of comedy and teen drama packed into the series and have now had to say goodbye as the series finale just dropped on Hulu last week.

I will admit I wanted a little bit more from the finale and I didn't love where all of the characters ended up, but that's the beauty of fantasy. We don't have to just leave off where the series stops. Personally, I felt that Love, Victor carried a lot of qualities that the 90s teen romance era did and the only thing missing was a fast-forward into the future telling us what happened to the characters.

They didn't do it, so I did it for them! Here are my predictions on what happens after the series finale of Love, Victor. And in case you need another warning, this has spoilers for season 3.

Felix & The Salazar's

'Love, Victor' [Hulu]

I'd love to say Felix rides into the sunset on his own, but I just don't think that is possible for him. His loyalty is free and as he told Pilar in the finale, he found his second family in the Salazar's and was never going to put it in jeopardy.

With the announcement of Armando and Isabel starting their own electrical business, something in my gut tells me Armando isn't going to have Victor, Pilar, or Adrian as an employee. I think that role belongs to Felix because despite everything, Armando sees Felix as another son. In the year or so after the finale, I see the new business is thriving and Armando and Isabel bring Felix and his mother, Dawn, on as partners. Dawn and Isabel make a great team as the backbone of the operation while Armando trains Felix as his electrical apprentice.

'Love, Victor' [Hulu]

As for Pilar and Adrian, I'm sure Pilar finds another boyfriend somewhere down the line. It's hard to gauge what is in her future, but she has a pretty independent mind so I doubt it's anything to do with the family business. Adrian continues to develop into his own person and, just maybe, has more in common with Victor than everyone might think. I say that because there were some hints in all three seasons. I guess it's a good thing both Armando and Isabel are good standing members of PFLAG.

Rahim

'Love, Victor' [Hulu]

You can't deny it, the series leaves Rahim in a really awesome spot. He confronts his mother about constantly having to go back into the closet for extended family and he helps give Victor the final push in being comfortable with his sexuality. Aside from being extremely blunt, Rahim has a great heart and I'm sure it will take him a long way as he eventually moves on from Creekwood. Because, yes, he is way too big for that world.

As cute as the relationship with Connor was, I'm sure it fizzles as some point. Just like many teen romances, they are learning experiences and I think Connor is a great stepping stone for Rahim as he continues to grow as a gay man. Where I see Rahim in the future is perhaps in a big city living his life out and proud. He doesn't have to hide from anyone and he can unapologetically be himself without having to lie about having a girlfriend or try to tone down his personality. I think he and Victor reunite, perhaps even in this big city.

Lake & Lucy

'Love, Victor' [Hulu]

Lake really comes into her own with the final season of Love, Victor and personally, I enjoyed her journey. Not only does she gain a better understanding of her mother, she comes to terms with her sexuality and learns that even though Felix made her happy... maybe another girl could, too.

Lucy comes into Lake's life as she's planning a full exodus from Creekwood and wants to go to Portland where she can be away from a traumatizing childhood and a neglectful family. The ultimate resolution is Lake offers her mother's condo to Lucy so she doesn't move, which, of course, Lucy accepts. But do I think they stay together? Unfortunately, no.

I loved the representation and I think it was about time we saw an LGBTQ+ couple that wasn't male dominated. However, I feel like Lake and Lucy ultimately fell victim to lesbian stereotypes - including the concept of Uhauling. It's a running joke within lesbian communities that women will go to the ends of the Earth for a potential partner and move way too fast. It sucks, but that's exactly what Lake did. She didn't respect Lucy's desire to move and now Lucy is staying just because she loves Lake. They find security in each other, but that isn't healthy for a relationship if one or both parties aren't happy with the entire situation. I am rooting for them, but I just see heartbreak in their future.

Mia & Andrew

'Love, Victor' [Hulu]

Mia and Andrew both have come a long way since the series began and I think their relationship is probably the most genuine. Andrew supports Mia on her journey of finding family and security and he does it even with the risk of her leaving him behind. Mia finally accepts Andrew's love and willingness to stick by her and agrees to go long distance once she moves to California.

There's not much to say about their relationship other than I see it working out in the end. I see her really finding her groove in California and eventually getting that call that Andrew is going to play basketball at Stanford. They date throughout college and they truly live out the fairy tale while being with Mia's father, stepmother, and her new baby brother. It's cheesy but they're the only teen couple I see making it past Creekwood.

Victor & Benji

'Love, Victor' [Hulu]

Victor and Benji's ending (or beginning) with the Love, Victor finale is where this gets a little frustrating. Did I cry when Benji showed up at the carnival to see Victor? Yes. But did I want it to be Benji in the end? Not at all.

When Victor showed up at his door and not Rahim's, I was pretty sad. While Benji comes to the conclusion that Victor isn't a trigger for him, Benji might be a trigger for Victor. Any moment where Victor has felt like he's lacking or like he is ruining someone else's situation, it all stems from Benji. And now that looming cloud of "will I cause another relapse?" is going to be hanging over him.

Victor and Benji are also just fundamentally different. They connect in the sense that they don't want to disappoint the people they love the most, but that's just trauma bonding. Victor had a lot more organic, genuine chemistry and potential for growth with Rahim. I love that they remained friends, but Victor and Rahim at their core want to help people. Benji is so focused on himself and convinces Victor at any opportunity that he just needs to work on himself. Not their relationship as a couple, but himself, and Victor is expected to just be along for the ride. It's just such a disservice to Victor as a whole and it makes him almost a backdrop for his own story.

'Love, Victor' [Hulu]

In my opinion, Victor's future is in some type of area like social work or life coaching. He is a great person and his growth will eventually leave Benji behind, but it would also open the door for someone like Rahim. Remember how I said I saw Rahim being his authentic self in a big city? Well, I also see Victor perhaps moving to a big city and finding ways to really make a difference. Perhaps he even goes to New York City and reconnects with his friend Simon in some capacity. And, who knows, maybe Rahim goes with him to live out his potential in the city and they are genuinely happy together. I think that ending suits Victor better than any ending he'd ever have with Benji.

Culture
1

About the Creator

Jenika Enoch

I love movies, music, sci-fi, and art. I'm a certified graphic designer and create my own art. Things that fuel me include equality, respect, and anything weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.