Pride logo

"He/Him"

It matters, you matter.

By Auntie KPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Like

Our server walked up wearing a short, sassy haircut and asked my family to follow you to our table to be seated. Although you wore a mask, your eyes were smiling and welcoming. Covid-19 restrictions had been lifted in our area and you were the only one wearing a mask this evening, but it didn’t hide your professionalism or kindness.

When we finally sat down, as I was taking off my coat I noticed your name tag, “LEO”.

The stares and glares coming from the people seated around us in a full bustling restaurant cut like knives from every direction. Leo paid them no attention.

But I did. I was new to the bible belt, the attitude that exists towards the LGBTQ+ community sickens me.

Out of simple respect, I asked Leo their proper pronoun, "He/ Him." he replied. I could see the surprise in his eyes. He then thanked me and let me know that he was never asked that before. I uttered a quick, "I am sorry that you haven't been given that respect, you deserve better from the community."

My family enjoyed their meal. Every once in a while, Leo would check in on us and we would chat a little bit. Sometimes something was said that would result in laughter from my whole family. As the evening grew, a birthday celebration that brought me anxiety- became enjoyable.

At one point a manager came to the table to ask how things were and inquire about our service. I explained that not only was Leo professional but he also contributed to an overall positive experience. She smiled and walked away.

We had finished our meal and just as we were getting ready to leave, Leo brought me a piece of chocolate cake. "Happy Birthday, this is a from me." I acknowledged how much the gesture meant to me, with a sincere thank you. After taking the first bite, I let my two children share it with me.

The whole experience was so meaningful to me. Leo had no idea what a struggle celebrating my birthday really was for me. To the opposite, I am quite aware of the struggles he faces in a region in which bigotry runs like a river.

...but on my birthday, Leo and I shared a connection. We lifted each other, we respected one another and we celebrated together. He will always be a part of a beautiful memory I will always hold on to.

To be honest, my family has considered moving, to be near an area that reflects more social diversity and acceptance... but we always come to the same conclusion: We can't. We need to plant seeds that can grow into something beautiful. We need to be here for Leo, and every other person that is harmed by hate.

Identity
Like

About the Creator

Auntie K

Simply a mediocre human trying to navigate this beautiful planet that struggles to be lovingly embraced by its most abusive inhabitants.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.