Pride logo

A Woman's Journey to Self Discovery

Part 4: The End, For Now

By Brittney MckinneyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It seems we have made it to the end of this story, but the journey is far from over, I am still discovering things about myself and that is what it is all about, learning new secrets about your personality that you didn’t know were there. I figured out a lot about myself from simply looking inside while I was writing about this journey, there were things that hadn’t thought about until I started writing about where I came from to where I am now. We talked about how I thought for a long time that I was straight only to figure out that I like both men and women only again to figure out that it was more than that and learn that I like a person’s personality more than gender or sex. I even touched on possibly being polyamorous which is having the ability to have romantic feelings for more than one person, this is something that I think about sometimes. This last part will be about where I go from here and how learning all of this has shaped me into the person that I am today; learning about myself is something I take truly do seriously.

Now that certain discoveries have been made it’s time to move forward and figure out where to go from here, I want to live my life in a way that is true to who I am without the fear that I will be judged by those who are closest to me. I know that they love me but I don’t know that that they will be ok with who I am when it comes to who I am attracted to, but if I am being honest I should not care how they feel about it because it has nothing to do with them. What I learned about myself in the past few weeks while I have been writing these articles has left me wanting to know more about myself and discover new things that I can use to better myself. I hope that you have learned something about yourself just as well from reading these articles about a woman who has gone through so many changes throughout her life and is still changing as she writes this. When I started writing about this journey I was nervous to talk about this because I wasn’t sure how to start, I didn’t know if people would even want to hear about what I had to say, I hope that people do.

I know that facing your feelings about who you are can be scary but I also know that once you do you will feel like you are finally becoming who you were meant to be; sexuality is a scary subject when you think of all the people who have died because of it. Given all the problems that are happening right now with people being harassed just for choosing to love someone that may be the same sex as them or even a different gender is crazy. I don’t understand why things like that are such a big deal nor do I understand how someone can hate someone for simply choosing to be themselves and not live a lie even if it could keep them alive. Making the choice to live your life how you want should be given to everyone, not just the ones who choose to live a way that society has deemed right and true, you have to stop fearing how the world will see you and just live.

This has been my way of confronting the feeling I have about my sexuality and how I am going to deal with it from here on out, I can’t let my fears about it stop me from exploring it because these thoughts and feelings are not going to go away. I am glad you were willing to make it this far in my story and I hope that you will come back for more stories because I will be trying to write more articles like this one as well as ones about many different subjects.

Identity
Like

About the Creator

Brittney Mckinney

I know that I am not the best writer on here or any writing platform but I do have a unique to me point of view and I would like to share it with whoever is willing to read it, I mostly like writing fiction but will share my opinion too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.