Potent logo

The Stoners Heimlich

A Near Pizza Death Experience

By Bree GwendolynPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Stoners Heimlich
Photo by Alan Hardman on Unsplash

As per usual I need to disclose that this story includes illegal use of Marijuana. I do not condone the illegal or underage use of Cannabis products and my behaviour in this story does not represent who I am as a person now. All names aside from my own have been changed out of respect for those involved.

Alright, lets introduce my OG squad. I'm still super close with some of these people and I have A LOT of stories with them. So we have Liam; Liam and I dated several times and now remain very close friends but at the time of this story he was dating Ava. Ava and I have been friends since elementary school and are also still close. Then there's Brennon and Kyle. Brennon is now Liam's roommate and none of us are very close with Kyle anymore but we still have lots of love for him.

Brennon and I were both 18, the rest of our friends still 17, the summer after high school graduation. Our group spent almost every single day together getting baked and going on adventures. We liked to hot box Liam's garage fairly frequently. So on this day we once again decided to head to Liam's place to smoke up in the garage. We were pretty heavy smokers at this point so it wasn't uncommon for us to have multiple smoking devices going at once. Between the 5 of us we each had at least one pipe being passed around, I think their were also a couple bongs and at least one joint. So the joint got passed around and finished between us and everyone passed the pipes and bongs around the circle. Eventually everyone kind of stopped taking their hits and all of the pipes and bongs stacked up beside me.

At this time I was definitely the type to never leave a bowl unfinished and this was the day that habit became a big downfall. I'd take my hoot and then offer the pipe to everyone else in the circle, they all said no so I'd finish that pipe and move on to the next one. No one else seemed to notice as Liam and Ava were in their own conversation and Brennon and Kyle were discussing video games or Star Wars or something of the sort.

After probably an hour Ava turned to me, finally noticing that all the devices were empty and I had been dead silent for a while.

"Bree, you okay?" she asked. I immediately started laughing. I had no idea why I was laughing or why I couldn't stop laughing, but I laughed and laughed for over an hour straight.

"Liam, I think we broke Bree again." Yes, she did say again. You'll come to learn this phrase is pretty commonly said.

"How about we get some munchies, mellow it out a bit," Liam suggested. It was somewhere around this time that I regained my ability to stop laughing and form words and semi coherent sentences. I don't exactly remember when someone suggested pizza or who suggested it, probably Ava, but we ended up ordering Dominos. Dominos was our go to because really who doesn't want pizza AND Lava Cakes when they're baked out of their minds?

So we order our pizza, smoke a bit more, with myself being mostly cut off, and wait for its arrival. The pizza arrives and it doesn't take long for chaos to ensue. Still far too baked to function I somehow forget how to properly chew and eat my food. I cough and choke trying to dislodge the pizza as all of my friends jump from their chairs in a straight panic.

"Bree's choking! Someone do something!" Ava exclaims!

"Call 911!" Brennon shouts.

"We can't call 911 there's weed EVERYWERE!" Kyle adds to the panic.

That's when Liam jumps up to my rescue. Everything started to fog, I felt dizzy and my vision began to go black as I felt Liam's arms wrap around my stomach. I could tell I was about to go down when Liam successfully dislodged the pizza and my breathing and vision came back. Ava got my some water and I took a few moments before managing to get a few words out.

"Holy shit you saved my fucking life bro!" There was a wave of utter disbelief sitting on me. I was shocked that this had happened and yet not at all shocked that Liam saved me. Our friendship grew stronger that day, and I have promised to this day that if need be I would return the favour for Liam without hesitation.

So I dedicate this story to my incredible friends, to our bond so strong we'd save each others lives. I love you guys forever.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.