Potent logo

My Experience with Cannabis

How this plant saved my life

By Osana WasutPublished 5 years ago 12 min read
2

Society has this very negative association with cannabis, and its time that it's addressed because its quite childish really, but we are so misinformed its not even funny and the things in life that are actually good and helpful for humanity have been painted in a completely negative light to seem like the worst thing in the world for us, and those things that are actually very destructive and detrimental for the wellbeing of humans are painted in a strangely positive light.

Let's use alcohol as an example of this. Alcohol has killed far more people than cannabis has, and yet we celebrate by drinking alcohol, we pressure others into drinking this poison with us, and destroying our most valuable asset which is our minds, and then we get in our vehicles and drive home drunk, risking not only our own lives but the lives of others as well.

Alcohol is poison, and we are okay with it, no one bats an eye if someone drinks a beer or glass of wine at dinner, but some people will lose their shit if you tell them you smoke cannabis. (I say some people because not everyone is against cannabis, and those who have done their actual research, and not just watched the news, know of its countless benefits and will defend it to the grave, those are MY people, and I love them all dearly! Hi you guys <3)

So my story with smoking cannabis. Here we go! Hopefully, this will enlighten you a bit and make you see that I probably wouldn't be here if I never found cannabis, so before you open your mouth to talk shit about someone for doing this, make sure you find out why they smoke or consume cannabis in the first place because the answer might surprise you and teach you something new.

All of creation is perfect and divine and it's all for a reason. Cannabis is a plant and has been used for many thousands of years to treat many different things. There is nothing wrong with cannabis, it's just we have been convinced its "bad."

My story with Cannabis

So I started smoking cannabis shortly after my mother passed away, I know shame on me, right? It was at that time, the only little bit of peace and happiness that I got during those dark days of my life, was when I smoked cannabis, it made me happy. That's all that should matter in my honest opinion. Imagine a world where everyone was happy! That's my kind of world.

I was in my early twenties when I started, so no, I didn't smoke it in my early teenage years when the brain was still developing, and it's certainly not recommended that you smoke cannabis before your brain has fully matured. This is really important, I do not recommend smoking it before at least 21 years old.

Back then, I didn't smoke very often, maybe once a week if that, but eventually I switched to edibles and did that every Sunday night, it was my pre-week ritual. I would eat a cannabis cookie and then sit down and go over every single area of my life, I'd design a plan for the week ahead and figure out what I wanted to accomplish. It was a great tool for my personal development and that I cannot stress enough.

Cannabis literally transformed me.

You see, when I am high, I don't sit on the couch eating a bag of Cheetos, watching TV, I have never done that, and I haven't owned a TV since I was in my early twenties.

What happens when I use cannabis is I work, I get highly creative, and I dive deep into my own self and I do a ton of self-reflection.

As I mentioned earlier, when I smoke cannabis, I become completely connected to my higher self, and its through that that I've been able to transform so dramatically over the years, people can hardly recognize me now, I went from fat, miserable, depressed, and unhappy to who I am now, a happy, positive, healthy, and ambitious young woman.

Whenever I smoke cannabis, I take a good hard look at my life and figure out the areas in which I want to improve myself, I become much more consciously aware when I am high so I am able to see things about myself that I wouldn't have noticed had I been sober.

This is the hardest thing that some just don't understand. When I am high it's like I become a much wiser version of myself, I am not "little me" anymore, but I become "magnificent me." I think this was the biggest reason I enjoyed doing it so much, it was like I had a whole new perspective on life.

Another thing that would happen when I was high is I would become hyper-focused, and I could sit down and work on something very detailed for hours on end and not feel bored, everything was far more enjoyable for me.

However, there is a side effect to smoking cannabis which I experienced very early on when I first started and that was paranoia... I would start to overthink and become extremely paranoid about a lot of things, and there came a point where I couldn't smoke with anyone else, except a few select people. If I ever smoked cannabis with you, it meant I was 100 percent comfortable with you and never felt any judgment from you, so congrats!

Through this, I realized that I was far too critical on myself so therefore I cared a lot about what other people thought of me and that's where the paranoia stemmed from. I would like to say that it took a while for me to break free from giving a fuck what others thought of me, but now that I have I can literally say or do anything and I don't care what people think. It's great to be unfuckwithable!

After many months of taking an edible once a week on Sunday nights after my work week ended, I started to slowly increase my usage since I was experiencing such tremendous growth it honestly didn't make sense to quit that. So I started to do it more.

Eventually, in the summer of 2017, I decided that I wanted to get off of my sleeping medication I was on for the past two years, it was an antidepressant called Trazadone that I had been on for insomnia and depression.

I was able to rather easily get myself off Trazadone and I'm sure you can guess what I did to replace it... you got it, I replaced it with cannabis, specifically the Indica strain which relaxes and calms you. Sativa wakes you up, Indica puts you to sleep.

So at this point, now I was smoking cannabis every night, never before 8 or 9PM, I'm not an all day smoker, but I like to enjoy it at the end of my day and it helps me unwind and relax after my day of productivity.

I would spend those two to three hours before bed doing some journaling, (I guess I do write a bit when I'm high, but never for this blog site) and then I would fall into an easy, peaceful sleep without any problem. Before cannabis, I had such a hard time sleeping as my mind tends to light up and think about anything and everything the second I turn off the lights. For me, cannabis solved this problem.

At a time in my life when I needed something, it was there, and quite frankly I do believe that cannabis saved my life, and so that's what I would like to say, if you have a problem with me smoking cannabis, then you have a problem with me in general, because I wouldn't still be here if it hadn't been for cannabis.

Oh, and another bonus I got from smoking cannabis was it made me highly creative, and it helped my pineal gland open back up after fluoride calcified it years earlier. So my imagination became like it was when I was a child before I became brainwashed in the system. It brought me back to that childlike state, which is a problem with humanity, we don't allow our inner child to play, prosper and grow.

Through smoking cannabis I was able to access my inner child, and I nurtured her to the extent that she eventually came back out to play, and now she is every bit a part of me and I honor that child inside of me. This alone was worth it all, they say you have to become like that of a child to enter the kingdom of heaven, and I have really nurtured this aspect of me since my childhood came to an abrupt halt at a very young age, and I had to say goodbye to my child self at that point.

There have been so many benefits to smoking cannabis for myself, and I will definitely not say that its the same experience for everyone, because I know that there are people who have had negative experiences with the plant, but from my experience, all I can say is that everyone that I have personally met who smokes cannabis on a consistent basis, they are truthfully the most incredible people that I have ever met! They are the most down to earth, easy to talk to people, and they don't judge me for anything I do, and we connect on such a deep level that it's hard to explain.

All the friends I have met in the past year or two all happen to smoke cannabis and have been the most incredible people I have ever met, and I don't think I would have met them, had I not smoked cannabis.

I still do smoke cannabis but I don't smoke it every single day anymore like I did in the past, but I also don't intend on stopping anytime soon.

It also seems to be much more accepted in the spiritual community and they say that smoking cannabis raises your vibration which in turn raises the vibration of the planet, and to that, I can honestly agree with 100 percent. I can't think of anything better to do than raising the vibration of ourselves as this is kinda what we are here to do...

If you've followed my blog for a while, you know that I work with the light. I don't do anything that would harm anyone, including myself as that would be completely counter-intuitive considering the growth and transformation I have experienced.

If for one minute I thought that cannabis was harming me in a negative way, I would simply quit, I am not addicted to it whatsoever and can easily put it aside for a week or so at a time if I need to, like I did when I went to Vipassana for 10 days. We were not allowed anything during those 10 days, and I easily put it aside and had no withdrawal symptoms at all.

I just haven't felt the overwhelming desire to quit smoking yet, and I don't think I will unless I get pregnant, I will stop smoking during that time 100 percent.

I think honestly the only negative side effect that I would mention I've noticed, is yes sometimes I do cough, it hurts my throat, but when I stop for a day or two I'm fine again very quickly. It doesn't affect my physical health, and in fact, I find my mind has gotten much stronger so I am able to exercise for longer periods of time and my focus in each moment is completely present, which is a beautiful way to live life, in the moment.

Another thing that could be considered a "bad thing" is the munchies... They are a very real thing when you smoke cannabis, but honestly, if you have any self-control, you can easily manage this aspect too. You can still enjoy your munchies, just don't eat the entire bag of chips in one sitting.

This goes without saying, but we live in an instant gratification world, but if you get an urge to late night snack, wait 10 minutes and see if you still want it then. But certainly, don't get high and then just sit around all night watching TV and eating everything in sight. This is certainly something I don't do, but I do enjoy a late night snack, although I don't buy junk food all that often so its never really an option for me anyway, but I usually eat a piece of fruit instead, oranges are my favorite!

Other than that, I can't really think of anything else to add here at this point. All in all smoking cannabis has been one of the most life-changing things I have ever done, but one has to do it from the right intention. I always made it my intention to do something towards my transformation whenever I smoked, and that is why I can say that I handle myself well.

Not everyone does this of course, but it's up to each individual to decide for themselves whether cannabis is right for them or not, and we have absolutely no right to judge others on what they choose to do with their lives.

So there we have it, folks! That is my story regarding my experience with cannabis. It's a bit "controversial" I know, but this is just my perspective and we all have one, but it's fair to say that I don't care if you don't approve of me smoking cannabis, I won't stop for that reason. Really it just fuels my fire more, so keep up the criticisms and I will burn brighter and brighter with each passing day.

You can't stop me, my light can't be dimmed any longer!!

With Love and Light

Lindsay @ World Dreamerz

My Website

humanity
2

About the Creator

Osana Wasut

Sharing my stories with the world. Writing has been a great tool for transformation, and I feel like I am only starting to dive deep into the self. Life is a wonderful gift, live to the fullest!

Find me at www.osanawasut.ca

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.