Potent logo

Ketamine's Healing Powers

How ketamine changed me forever

By DMTakeshiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo By Zerbor on shutterstock

160 milligram poem-

Bam

160 milligrams

Straight to the dome

Returning home

*

Is all music the same?

Is this from where we came?

Here we go

Overload

*

Right where I’m supposed be

Fits perfectly

We are in sync

And on the brink

*

The brink of breaking through

After the concoction is brewed

Dissociate to reflect

This is how I can connect

*

Now I know my purpose

It’s come to the surface

Thank you ketamine

You’ve revealed what was unseen

***

“The drug ketamine, used as a ‘dissociative’ anesthetic, can produce subjective reports of conscious awareness outside the body, as can various other psychoactive drugs.” — Stuart Hameroff

I started receiving ketamine infusion therapy at the beginning of this year. I did this because traditional medicines were not working for me. My psychiatrist had tried every depression medication out there and none seemed to do the trick by itself. I didn’t know what to expect and so my first session I was a little anxious, but in a good way. It wasn’t so bad because I have tried other psychedelics before, just not ketamine.

Ketamine is a dissociative drug and is used to treat many things, including depression, anxiety, PTSD, bipolar, chronic pain, and much more. For me, my suicidal thoughts went away immediately. I also saw the benefits it provided my PTSD, depression and anxieties. I wasn’t yet diagnosed as bipolar, but you can imagine that it helped immensely with my agitation.

I receive my treatments at Klarisana. Klarisana’s mission statement is Rebuilding Lives. They use intramuscular ketamine infusion therapy to help their patients do just that. When I first came to Klarisana, my mental health was steadily on the decline. I was in a deep rut that I could not get out of by myself until I found this new place.

It’s not a conventional treatment, but a very rewarding one. It was as if all the stars aligned, and I was right where I was supposed to be. I met with the greatest doctors and physician’s assistants, and I was ready for whatever was to come my way. I had my playlist picked out, and they provide you with a comfortable and private room. They also monitor you closely for safety and comfort.

My first session, I received sixty milligrams. They then slowly build you up over six sessions to a level you are comfortable with, spread over the course of two weeks in an hour and a half sessions. After those sessions, you can receive a maintenance session as often as once every three weeks. Klarisana also does therapy sessions combined with ketamine lozenges as well. This is also a very beneficial therapy.

It was an experience that is unexplainable, so you must do it for yourself to know. The best way I can explain it is more about the aftereffects. It slowed down the world so I could catch up to it. I was better able to process my emotions and regulate my mood. My constant suicidal thoughts subsided. I could focus more on what I wanted to do with my life. I found my purpose through these sessions.

I wasn’t writing very much last year because of my depression, but after ketamine, my creative juices have never been stronger. I even self-published my poetry book. I have so much to share with the world. I can honestly say that having purpose gives meaning back to my life. I work constantly on my mental health and writing also provides me with further tools to battle my depression and suicidal thoughts.

I think I will have a lot more to say about my ketamine experiences in the future. For now, that’s enough to digest. I hope I piqued your interest enough to investigate these services in your area. See what it can do for you or a loved one. It might just save a life like it did mine.

health
1

About the Creator

DMTakeshi

DMTakeshi has zero credentials and these poems have a high probability that they are the ramblings of a person with a serious mental illness. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.