Potent logo

I Just 'Juana Smoke

My experience moving from an anti-marijuana state to a fully legal state.

By TheSilentSheepdogPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
I Just 'Juana Smoke
Photo by David Gabrić on Unsplash

I was always a good kid

I never smoked, drank, partied, did drugs, snuck out. I was always at home at a good time, always went to school, and had very few friends who also caused no trouble. My parents "raised me right" according to themselves.

Growing up in the "Bible Belt" of North America, nearly every substance is frowned upon except for beer and whiskey. For some reason, the elderly down there seem to think getting black out drunk is perfectly fine, but God forbid you puff a bit of ganja.

My entire life I was told that marijuana was evil by my parents and other elders. The D.A.R.E. program told me vehemently that marijuana was a "gateway drug." They always said that "it only takes one puff to get addicted." News flash, D.A.R.E. is an absolute joke.

Eventually, I reached my late teens, and met a stranger. I don't remember how I met him, but that's not important anyway. What matters is that this guy introduced me to the amazing experience that is smoking great weed.

By Kym MacKinnon on Unsplash

The Experience

I have always suffered with depression and anxiety as a child. As an adult, I developed severe anger issues and lived with offensive family members who only made it worse. Traditional pills and medicine only made my symptoms worse, gave me new symptoms, or did absolutely nothing for me.

I was and am still by no means a stoner, but I indulged when my heart called out for that amazing little plant. Weed was the only "medication" that could calm me down, settle my anxiety, and wash away my depression. Therefore, I turned to it in my most dire situations to get me through.

By Daoud Abismail on Unsplash

The Struggle

Unfortunately, growing up in a state run by people who think consuming cannabis is equivalent to committing a federal crime, that made getting your hands on it all the more difficult. You either had a dealer or found whoever you could who would sell it to you. I've never personally bought from anyone. Any cannabis I had was usually gifted to me by people who smoked it more regularly.

I abstained for about two years and applied to a job that I had been pursuing for a long time at that point, and was unfortunately rejected due to that small amount I consumed two years prior. Not a trace of it in my system, not a single speck of leaf to be found anywhere in or near my home, and yet two years ago, the choice I made to smoke to help with my illnesses ruined my ability to have a career. I eventually pursued other means of employment, but I was upset and heartbroken over such a menial thing ruining my future in a career I wanted for so long.

Many young people in my home state began dying or becoming severely ill due to laced marijuana that street dealers were distributing. Local law enforcement could not find the source of this laced weed or what exactly it was being contaminated with, so this problem still goes on today.

By Omar Ram on Unsplash

The Move

In time, I was able to move to a state where weed had been fully legalized. Imagine my excitement when I was able to visit a dispensary for the first time and have first pick of anything on the shelf.

Everything was neatly organized, categorized, and perfectly safe to consume. The dispensary workers and cashiers were incredibly kind and willing to help me out. The vibe was just immaculate. There was no judgement, just laughter and smoke.

I was finally free to buy and consume cannabis legally and safely. I didn't have to worry about laced weed that would put me in the hospital, or worse. I can go home with my discreet bag and smoke in peace and not hurt anyone. I didn't have to hide an innocent habit anymore like I was a criminal. Needless to say, moving to a fully legalized state was one of the best things I could have ever done for myself.

By Shot by Cerqueira on Unsplash

The Benefits

I consume cannabis now on a daily basis. It helps me relax, sleep, and motivates me to do more. My depression is softened, my anxiety is mostly gone, and my creativity thrives after a smoke session.

I do a lot of creative work when I'm not at my full time job. My creativity was completely stunted by mental and emotional abuse, chronic depression, cognitive decline, and just general apathy. I'd lost all the rainbows and song in my head to a nuclear bomb of apathy, leaving my once great mind a desolate battlefield of dead dreams. Everything went blank for a long time.

However, once I began consuming cannabis on the regular, everything changed. I laughed again, I could see clearly in my mind again, my imagination sprung back to life like a freshly watered flower. Color came back to my world, dopamine and motivation pumped through my veins once more.

What I'm trying to say here is, weed is an amazing, safe, and natural way to have fun, spark your creativity, and make an awful life just a little less awful. Sometimes, it may even make life amazing. I wish more places accepted cannabis. Oh, how the world would change.

culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.