Potent logo

How A Trip To The Store Became A Fiasco

Thanks to my two best friends

By Matt LeggPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
How A Trip To The Store Became A Fiasco
Photo by Darwin Vegher on Unsplash

My friends and I went to the store the other day. I didn’t need their help but they had nothing better to do so they came along for fun.

Arthur got there first of course, and we waited for Steve.

“Where is this guy? He’s always late.” Steve said.

I rolled my eyes, “You know him he’s probably getting high.”

Arthur stood there and shook his head. Finally, we hear someone fumbling with the door.

“Yo, what’s up guys?”

“Wow so nice of you to get here in such a timely fashion.”

Arthur was always over dramatic.

“Come on man leave me alone, I’ve had a hard day.”

“Are you ok?” I asked.

“Yeah, but I lost something very important to me and I feel bad man.”

“Are you talking about your bong you left at my house last night?”

“Oh yeah” Steve chuckled his little stoner laugh “That’s right”

Steve stood there with the usual dumb look on his face, so pleased he found his beloved bong.

“Can we go now?” Arthur was blood boiling mad at this point.

“Relax man just let me smoke real quick.”

“No, I’ve been waiting long enough let’s go already.”

“Dude the store is open for like 8 more hours we have plenty of time.”

“I don’t want to spend my whole day going to the store, I have things to do.” This wasn’t true but Arthur is very impatient and hates to waste time.

I stood there and let those two fight among themselves like usual. Then Arther came over to plead his case.

“This guy is a loser why do you hang out with him. We could do so much more if he wasn’t around holding us down.”

I gave Arthur a disapproving look while at the same time thinking he might be right. But Steve is a good guy, and I’ve known him for years. So what that he smokes too much pot he’s a cool guy and I like him.

Steve blew out a thick cloud of smoke. “Alright, let’s go boys.”

We all piled into my car and made our way to the store. Arthur took control of the radio and turned it to NPR. We listened in the front while Steve did god knows what in the back.

We pulled into the parking lot and made our way in. I had a small list of things to grab. Arthur stayed with me and Steve disappeared. Arthur and I made small talk as I got what I needed, still no sign of Steve. I had everything in my cart and made an extra trip around the store, still no sign of Steve.

I got in line and paid for my things, as we walked out we called Steve to see where he was.

“Yo, what’s up dude?”

“Where are you?”

“I’m walking home from the store.”

“Why are you walking?”

“I don’t have my car.”

“Because I drove you dude. You came with me in my car.”

“Oh yeah, I wondered why I was at the store, I just bought some ice cream and started walking home. I’m on the side of the road if you want to pick me up.”

I looked at Arthur, I knew he would have a lot to say about this.

“We’re going to pick Steve up on the way,” I said.

“Where is he?”

I paused for a second before responding, Arthur could tell by the look on my face what was coming.

“I told you that guy was a loser, what was it this time?”

“He forgot I drove and started walking home.”

Arthur just stared at me, completely speechless.

“Yeah I know, but he’s a nice guy.”

“I guess,” Arthur said with his classic sarcasm.

We found Steve along the road and he hopped in.

“Wow, thanks for getting me guys it’s hot out there.”

I could see Arthur seething with anger.

“Just let it go, man.”

He turn the radio up and was silent the rest of the ride.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.