Potent logo

CBD Oil and Hypothyroidism

Does it work?

By Crystal McGrawPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
2
CBD Oil Capsules

Like many, I was a skeptic, worried about the effects of CBD oil if I were to try it out. But also like many, I was (am) tired of the pain, constantly living everyday in a blur of tiredness and aches.

I have hypothyroidism. I'm sure I've had it long before I was actually diagnosed with it, but the official diagnosis was in September 2015, and my issues with swallowing were getting out of control so I finally made a doctor's appointment regarding the issue. Because of how inflamed my thyroid was, he referred me to an ENT doctor. This resulted in a surgery to remove my tonsils and also widen my nasal passages. At that point I was then referred to an endocrinologist, my original dosage of levothyroxin was 50mg, it steadily raised from there, 55mg, 125mg, 150mg, back down to 125mg and currently the dosage I am supposed to be taking is 150mg. I've been on quite the roller coaster with the endocrinologist. My primary care doctor states that the best thing for me would be to have my thyroid removed, my endocrinologist refuses to do this. I even got to the point a few months ago where a surgery was actually scheduled, my primary care doctor wanted it done, the ENT doctor had to be the one to schedule it. He did, but he contacted the endo instead of my primary care doctor. She said it wasn't necessary at this time. I see her maybe once a year, but my primary care doctor at least four to five times a year. When I got told it wasn't happening, I wanted to cry. I did, to my husband. I know what I go through on a daily basis and a couple people I am close to know as well, they've seen the swallowing issues, mood swings, dry skin, teeth pains, working my ass off, but barely losing any weight, so much tiredness, hair loss, lack of interest in certain things, all while being medicated. I will admit, at first the medication did help me to lose a little more weight than previous years. After awhile the symptoms kept steadily and increasingly coming back. And let's be honest, who wants to get surgery, a surgery where they have to go in through your neck at that? I just want the issue taken care of. I understand that these people are doctors, but does that mean they always have my best interest at heart? No, my primary care doctor literally told me that if my thyroid was to be removed I would no longer have to deal with going to the endocrinologist. He can prescribe my medication so I would only need to see him from then on. This makes me think the endo is in it for the money not my actual health.

In the past three and a half years, my experience with hypothyroidism has been an absolute roller coaster. I have had two thyroid x-rays, a CT scan, two thyroid ultrasounds, and three needle biopsies! THREE!! Unnecessary procedures that always result in the same outcome: More tests. And I'm told the same thing over and over and over again. My thyroid is severely inflamed.

So, let's fast forward to now. I relocated about three hours from my primary care doctor. I am trying to schedule an appointment here with a new doctor, but haven't had much luck getting through. I have not had my thyroid medication in about six months, yes, I know that's bad, but I couldn't get it refilled before I left because they lost the record of my last blood test, yes, lost it. A few weeks ago my husband brought me some CBD oil capsules. He said that I should try them because of the pain I was in, I was skeptical. It took me about a week after he gave me the capsules to actually start taking them. Someone that we know who has diabetes was also skeptical and apparently these little oil capsules were like miracle workers for him. Less sleepless nights, less pain, less feelings of tiredness.

I'm going to start out by saying that I am not a doctor, CBD oil helping to treat hypothyroidism has not been proven. Everything that I am about to say is based on my own personal experience. I researched CBD oil for a good week before I started taking the capsules. I wanted to make sure it wasn't going to make me high, turns out it's non-psychoactive. I wanted to make sure if I were to have to take a drug test for work or otherwise I was going to pass. Everything checked out and CBD oil has so many great reviews I thought, what could it hurt? I began taking the capsules. One in the morning, one at night as suggested. After a couple days, I was amazed I was feeling pretty good, I was actually sleeping through the entire night, my back wasn't hurting in the morning, more of a sex drive than I'd had in awhile (unfortunately, that is also a negative side effect of hypothyroidism). Generally I felt happier, I was mostly in a good/decent mood, less mood swings. I actually had no issues swallowing that week, a stomach pain I was having was gone. It wasn't something I thought about too much that week, but after I hadn't taken the capsules for a few days (I ran out) I was in the shower washing my hair and a good amount of hair shed while I was washing it and I realized that my hair hardly shed, if at all that entire week I was taking the CBD oil capsules. I was amazed at the difference I felt taking it and in all honesty I hadn't felt that good in a long time.

Again, I am not a doctor and this is based solely on my personal experience. I am going to get back on my levothyroxin when I am able to get through to the doctor. But I think that when I am able to I am going to take the CBD oil capsules and my medication, because if I felt that good on one thing, maybe both will have me feeling 100 percent. No, CBD oil has not been a proven treatment for hypothyroidism, but it worked for me and I would definitely say it's worth giving a shot.

health
2

About the Creator

Crystal McGraw

I'm always speaking my mind, When I'm better off biting my tongue

I'm a bad joke at the wrong time .Hell,I'm a legend in my own mind

I'm good for some but I'm not for everyone~Brother's Osbourne.

I'm here to write stories& tell my story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.