Poets logo

Zone Addiction

Comfort

By Nancy SantosPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I don't understand how I was able to stay in control of my surroundings.

I've seen and been in situations that demanded confusion.

I was lost, broken, and felt abandoned,

although aware of it, crave the pain,

never asking myself what will this gain?

It was my life. It was my function.

I survived and it made me stronger.

Never looking for a way out,

just for the comfort.

I saw the danger, I saw the risk,

but it was like flutter after a kiss.

It filled up my soul.

My heart was un-touched.

I walked in a fog half my life,

Making up lies and covering it up.

I didn't think I was doing anything wrong.

I didn't feel other's pain.

My pain was too strong,

too involved,

too selfish,

that it never occurred to me,

This could drive me insane.

I was stopped.

I was trapped.

This new feeling, it felt good,

it felt real,

it was honest.

How do I deal?

I tried to find the danger,

the flow of my soul.

It wasn't working.

The security enfolded my world,

It made me whole.

I now belong.

I thought I needed this,

this quilt that warmed my heart

and made me a part of what? Society.

I was to be respected,

an important person to many,

who counted on me for stability.

I've never known stability.

It was introduced, it was learned, I adapted.

this new life, I tried, It was all crafted.

But I lost control.

It crept slowly at first,

into my world unnoticed.

I asked, should I stop, get a grip?

because it felt so right

but hurt like a ton of bricks.

The danger is back.

The risk is stolen from under me.

I've become fearful, but excited.

Numbness flowing through my body,

making me weak and invisible.

Once again...

I can selfishly embrace my pain.

The pain I crave...

because it is a pain that can only comfort me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nancy Santos

"It is well with my Soul"

Everything expressed here illustrates my thoughts, opinions and experiences with a touch of humor, faith and positivity.

I assure you and most solemnly say to you...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.