Poets logo

Your Toy

There's a trigger warning on this one.

By Ruth StewartPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
7
Your Toy
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

You told me you could rape me again,

That your hands are still strong.

Your hair is white now,

But you are still menacing.

*

I shout, “Leave me alone!”

You let go of me.

Somebody heard.

*

How did she never know?

How could she have been so blind?

*

Would shouting have worked all those years ago?

I didn’t believe she cared.

Maybe she didn’t, her home and life invested….single motherhood, not again!

I wasn’t important.

*

You are dead now.

But thoughts and dreams plague me, still.

sad poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
7

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Harmony Kent11 months ago

    Oh, Ruth, you are so brave and generous to share your pain and experiences. Too much of this remains hush-hush. I can relate to your words, and you’ve expressed this wonderfully. Sad and amazing how much power this has over us even decades later. Love and hugs 🤗💕🙂

  • I'm so sorry this happened to you 🥺 Yes they may be long gone but the memories would still haunt. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️🥺

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    Oh, Ruth; I am so sorry. Thank you for sharing such a vulnerable piece. The first line made my stomach DROP! This is well-written and irrevocably poignant.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Brutal and raw, but truth that needs let out again and again. It never really goes away. Thank you for being brave enough to share this :)

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is so powerful darling. Well done with this. It's a difficult read, but beautifully expressed nonetheless. Very proud! You should be proud of yourself for it!

  • Asif Ali11 months ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/smile-s-resilience-illuminating-hope-in-poverty-s-embrace

  • Asif Ali11 months ago

    amazing.excellent work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.