Poets logo

Your Tantalizing Trickery

#VocalNPM

By Lisa Barfield-McCartyPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

If I turned to you now

From my pit of despair,

Would you try to comfort me?

Would you even really care?

It isn't that plain to see,

By the light of our history.

If I told you my deepest secrets

Would you let me in - or be my end?

Under the cover of tragedy

Would you say that I have sinned?

To feel my heart bleed, casually?

Distorting the memory?

What is this that's killing me?

Was that your presence here?

Did it linger incessantly?

Followed by the void and the fear

Of what I know could never be,

Leaving me in misery...

Why did you speak those words?

That keep me holding on...

Such tantalizing trickery;

My prison is your passion,

My dreams, your mystery...

My life, your accessory.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Barfield-McCarty

Author of Holistic Fox Creative blog. @HolisticFox I consider myself more nuance and less niche. A creative type, I enjoy topics concerning all types of art, as well as entrepreneurship, entertainment, education, and nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.