Poets logo

Your Obedient Angel

A Break Up Letter

By Lee St. EvansPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Your Obedient Angel
Photo by Luigi Boccardo on Unsplash

Dear, My Dear,

I love you as no other

Though now

Like a newborn lamb

waiting for the slaughter

I wait for my time to come

A tally mark

On crinckled page of ex lover’s laments

This is what i'll be

But not what I am

I am the one who loves you

More than her own life

I am the one you love

The one you call angel

I am the angel whose wings have been torn

Who traded them away for a collar and cage

Who would rather be your slave

than the girl she used to know and treasure

Because i am the one who erased who I am

And, from the pencil, wrote a new future for my present

I have crossed every line drawn into the sands of time

I have breached every protective barrier that kept me away

I have broken every rule I ever set to follow

All for you

All for my love for you

I now look at an innocent girl

An ignorant girl

A girl i used to know

Who fell in love with you

She gave up the sky

Because the moon was promised by the sun

Though for honesty's sake you, the sun, did warn her she'd be burned

You knew I'd fall for you

That i'd reach the stars and crash

I would be taken in by the flames

And burnt to a crisp

Molded into the me you want me to be

Changed for the "better"

In your eyes

Did my chase last long enough?

You said it was about the hunt...

But the sun sees all

Except at night

And then

When the lights are off

And your slow carress entices me

And says that you love me

A seductive lover indeed

To erase everything i was

For everything i thought i wanted

And a huntsman who has caught his quarry

My wings gone, shot and crippled by cupid's arrow

The huntsman stole from the book of love

You said you loved the chase

You said you loved me

If the first is true

Could the second be too?

I broke my very being

You broke my heart

Literally and metaphorically

An attack of pain

Pleasure

In the way you love

And the way you destroy

You could do it you know

Destroy me with the snap of your fingers

You could do it, I know it

I've seen it

You hurt me

Badly

You proved your point

But I love you

And I look aside from that

Your point was taken

The arrow sharpened

Pointed at my cage

So that should i leave

It snaps

Flies

Straight into my repairing heart

Please remember me

When you decide i'm done

Remember the times i tried to leave

And listen to my heart as it stops

As crimson trails from where the arrow pierced

And listen to me now as I say

I will love you until the day I die

And know that you

My huntsman

My seductive lover

My mathemetician

My analyzer

My love

Make the choice... not I

On if we last

For I

Will do as you say

As I always do

Please don't let me go

Please dont let me fall

Please pick me back up and give me the stars

Don’t calculate the tally

Don’t analyze me as the scientist in the lab

I’m not a rat

You’re not a cat

This isnt a game

Love isnt a game

And you love me

And I love you

And so

Please know

I remain devotedly yours

signed,

Your Obedient Angel

surreal poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Lee St. Evans

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lee St. Evans (Author)11 months ago

    Poem c. 2010

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.