Poets logo

Your Magic Is Mine

Ephemeral Dream

By Stephanie J. BradberryPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
12
Your Magic Is Mine
Photo by Ameer Basheer on Unsplash

Tell me your stories, “Your magic is mine,”

Words so sweet they brought a tear.

I clearly remember you speaking this line.

~

Epitome of an ephemeral dream to pine,

A moth to a flame I was drawn near.

Tell me your stories, “Your magic is mine.”

~

Beside placid blue water like the Rhine,

Swept up in this moment was nothing to fear.

I clearly remember you speaking this line.

~

The moon reflected in your eyes did shine,

As your words kept resonating in my ear.

Tell me your stories, “Your magic is mine.”

~

Gently plucking feathered words from a vine,

Radiating like a gentle light from a pier.

I clearly remember you speaking this line.

~

Captivated by your verbal feast so fine,

I always remember your words so dear.

Tell me your stories, “Your magic is mine.”

I clearly remember you speaking this line.

Meeting The Call To The Challenge?

While I didn't meet the deadline for Mike Singleton-Mikey Dred's challenge, I was able to get it done ahead of Vocal's deadline. The upshot, my personal satisfaction with creating a second entry into the Villanelle Challenge.

Image from Mike Singleton on Vocal Social Society

Mike challenged us on Vocal Social Society to use the above picture as inspiration to write a villanelle in perfect form for Vocal's Villanelle Challenge. In addition, we needed to start with the line, "Tell Me Your Stories, Your Magic Is Mine."

Villanelleart
12

About the Creator

Stephanie J. Bradberry

I have a passion for literature and anime. And I love everything involving academia, health, metaphysics and entrepreneurship.

For products and services, visit: stephaniebradberry.com

For online courses, visit: bradberryacademy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah Danaher4 months ago

    Well done and enjoyed reading it.

  • Marvelously accomplished, Stephanie. I'm glad you made it in time to enter this into Vocal's challenge, even if you missed Mike's deadline.

  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    Lovely dream and beautifully written. Good luck in the challenge

  • Thank you for including the challenge link (there is a new live one) but this is an excellent villanelle Stephanie and this is a great effort so you get a tip with the other four entries.

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    I love this 🥰

  • Gosh this was so magical and mesmerising! So glad you got this into Vocal's challenge! Loved your Villanelle!

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Stephenie, this is gorgeous! LOVE THIS! ❤

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Lovely 👏

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is beautiful, Stephanie. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.