Poets logo

YOUNG….OLD

By The Invisible WriterPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
17
YOUNG….OLD
Photo by Daniel Páscoa on Unsplash

When I was young I was top of the world, I never felt bad

Now that I'm old I creak, I groan, I wander, where are the looks I had?

In me wee early days I coulda used a good strapping 🙃

Here lately I’d love a good napping 💤

I say, TIME is life's greatest absurdity, for every lass and lad!

vintageperformance poetryart
17

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    So 'I' - As Ringo Star (Beatles) once said: "I'm just happy to be here." - You're always fun in your 'Absurdity' sorta way. J-Bud

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    This was a fun limerick, brought a smile to my face! Nicely done, Will! 💜

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Woe is 'us'. Time runs so fast, we can't catch it. My poor bones. enjoyed the puns and such.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Napping is literally all I want to do anymore 🤣. This was great!! Time is definitely absurd!

  • Stevi-Lee Alverabout a year ago

    Fun piece. Time is absurd. I struggled to wrap my head around the concept when I was younger. I was always question time until I realised I was annoying everyone. So I stopped and bought a watch 😅

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    napping sums up life in my 40s! well done at capturing something many of us are familiar with! I thought I was subscribed already, but wasn't! now Iam!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    True words...Well done

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Good job as always Will...

  • Pffft, tell me about it! Time's absurd alright! Cool limerick!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    You’re not wrong 😑 nice one!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    What is that old expression "Youth is wasted on the young! " Something like that. I think I need a good napping! Great Limerick ☘️💚☘️💚

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    Your limerick captures the bittersweet feelings that come with aging and reminiscing about youth. Keep up the good work!👌👌👍💗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.