Poets logo

Young Black and Free

My gratitude for Juneteenth

By Joe PattersonPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
45

Young Black and Free. These are the words that best describe me and the best way to be.

Young Black and Free. This means I rise up from the mud knowing I’m a descendant of royal blood.

Young Black and Free. I’m thankful for the struggle because I wouldn’t be me without it. I will never doubt it.

Young Black and Free. June 19th is the greatest gift my home could give to me, the gift of liberty.

Young Black and Free. To the Lord up in Heaven I rejoice in a world where I can make my own choice.

Young Black and Free. That means I don’t have to be in hell again. There is no sin in my melanin.

Young Black and Free. Little Black boys and girls stand strong on your homeland strong.

Young Black and Free. I hope every young Black child can look in the mirror and see the beauty in a young Black me.

~~Dedicated to my ancestors who didn’t make it to Juneteenth.

inspirationalsocial commentary
45

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Isis Lyons 12 months ago

    Amazing ❤️

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Amen brother, Amen. For the truth shall set us free.

  • Gloria Anderson12 months ago

    Hi, Great Job! I am a new comer. Be inspired, Keep writing. Gloria.

  • Jerold Gervacio12 months ago

    I feel you

  • Mark Graham12 months ago

    One must always remember their history and try not to repeat it.

  • MT Poetry12 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this incredible piece of poetry that celebrates the essence of being young, Black, and free.👏🙌 Congrats on Top story💕🥰

  • Judey Kalchik 12 months ago

    Joe- I was cheering you on, couplet after couplet. I especially liked 'There is no sin in my melanin." And then you chose to honor those that could not rejoice in this day of remembrance. And I sobered right up. Well-done!

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    The repetition you use is spot on for this!! Nicely done. ❤️

  • Cendrine Marrouat12 months ago

    Excellent! Thank you! Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • 📝Powerful enough for me 🫶🏾💯‼️ Well done and Also Congratulations on your Top Story❤️‼️🎊

  • Clyde E. Dawkins12 months ago

    BRAVO!!! BRAVO!!!! I love this so much!!! Happy Juneteenth!!! And congrats on Top Story! Something this beautiful and powerful SHOULD BE Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Very well written, Joe! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Happy Juneteenth! Way to recognize and represent!!! 💖

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Very nice!

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    Happy Juneteenth ! Amazing message in this poem.

  • Julia Schulz12 months ago

    Nice work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.