Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

YOU

RE:SURGENCE; poems about mental illness

By Amanda StarksPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
4
Image by @brand456221007 on Canva. Edited with Canva assets.

You are the reason I lie awake at night -

eyes wide and heart bursting out of my ribcage.

You are the reason I toss and turn, desperate for relief,

until I give up on temporary peace

and rise to pace and breathe fire out of my lungs,

attempting to filter out the chaos bubbling in my veins.

You are the reason I gasp and cry soon after,

my disbelief and horror fueling every shaky sob

and shocking memory playing on repeat in my head.

You were the reason I lied

to hide the truth from you

so that you might be spared this heartbreak,

for no one should be the sole blame

on a collapsing house of cards.

Yet you never once hesitated

to point your faults at me,

to weaponize them into a noxious gas

that left me paralyzed and helpless,

cut open and alive on a surgeon's table

so that you could scrutinize me further

for imperfections and broken hardware.

You made me believe this was love.

Till the end, I whispered “I love you”

even as every incision bled and bled

and every blood pool became my mess to clean up.

I escaped you, but your words have followed me home.

They haunt every choice I make

and rob me of joy in every accomplishment,

and every night I sleep and pray

that tomorrow you will not speak

those poisonous spells again.

You are the reason why

when I look into the mirror

I see nothing of worth there,

for if I’m not perfect,

no one will ever love me.

-

This is the tenth poem in RE: SURGENCE, a poetry collection by Amanda Starks that shares what it's like to have and fight against mental illness in a free-form, lyrical prose.

Be aware that topics and themes may include suicide, self-harm, and isolation.

NEXT POEM:

PREVIOUS POEM:

If you want a free copy of RE: SURGENCE in an online, fully formatted PDF document, subscribe to my email newsletter at www.amandastarks.com ( found under the CONTACTS tab ), and it will be in your inbox once all the poems have been published here!

sad poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read11 months ago

    Truly, this is heartbreak at its worst. Just in the end, don't hate yourself for other's faults 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.