Poets logo

You Won

You played with my heart and you won.

By Alicia Del RePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

My heart was locked inside your ribcage

My mind was played with your tongue

My ears were surrounded by your words

And my body was trapped in your arms.

You took all the air from me

And made it hard for me to breathe

On the days I thought you'd save me

You had me drown in my tears

While you held my smile in your hands.

When I thought I was walking on clouds

My feet were bleeding from the thorns

You made me follow on your ground

I was once an angel from heaven

But my wings got burnt in your hell.

My body was never a sacred temple

It was used as your board game

And you won when your last words were

"Check mate."

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Del Re

I am a fourth year English student who wants to pursue a career in Journalism. I love reading and writing because it allows me to escape reality and enter another world inside my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.