Poets logo

You Were There...

A Fictional Monologue

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 years ago 1 min read
34
You Were There...
Photo by Damian Markutt on Unsplash

You were there when I nearly drowned in my neighbor's pool when I was five and no one else was around…

You were there to calm me down when my nerves got the best of me, and I wet my pants, then fainted during my 5th grade graduation speech…

You were there to gently remind me that I was doing wrong when I contemplated stealing a car from the mall parking lot in the 9th grade and dodged getting a juvenile record like the rest of my friends because of it…

You were there to comfort me, in the 11th grade, when my best friend turned my coach and the entire track team against me because I played hooky from a few practices…

You were there to protect me when I almost married a human trafficker at 22…

You were there to listen to me when I developed rheumatoid arthritis during my senior year of college...and several doctors told me it was all in my head…

Also, it was you who sat with me and enveloped me in your arms when I flunked the bar a second time at 27…and my parents would have NOTHING to do with me…

We first met in church when I was three-years-old… & I'll never forget how you've cared for me over the years...

You cared for me at the times that I needed you most…And I WILL always honor you for that...my Jehovah Jireh...

performance poetry
34

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was so powerful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.