Poets logo

You Were Formed In Me!

But I Must Let You Out!

By Brenda CarterPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2

You were formed in me. You entered this world to bring me joy But I must let you out.

Existing partly to take care of you to no avail. All you could do was gurgle and stare with silent eyes. You were formed in me.

You cried, crawled and could not subsist. Life has now placed you on your journey of growth. But I must let you out.

Life’s growths: Walking, talking, ability to feed yourself, Has given you confidence to reject, disrespect and deflect. You were formed in me.

Ironically, lunacy is how I am viewed with no ability to teach, And you are all knowledgeable with no ability to hear. But I must let you out!

Your values were robbed because you would not listen. Divine forgiveness is fleeting only to come from a Higher Power! You were formed in me. But I must let you out.

Copyright © 2023 Brenda Carter

surreal poetryVillanelleProse
2

About the Creator

Brenda Carter

Writing is my passion but I have held words in my heart that should be on the written page. As I burst forward with words I've held inwardly and attempt to write, my prayer is that what I have to say will help some and be enjoyed by many.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Your writing was truly remarkable.

  • This was so deep, poignant and emotional! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.