Poets logo

You Think You Know

It's only for War

By Shelby SchwartzPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I’ll never be who you want me to be.

I’ll always be alone one the sidelines,

Keeping to myself.

Holding back these urges I claim for the battlefield.

I standoff in the back.

My stance intimidating to you and everyone around me.

You don’t know me like you think you do.

I’m nothing like you and your dreams for me.

I will never be the perfect soldier.

Just set me lose and watch them fall.

Don’t act like you keep me here for more,

We all know it’s only for the war.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Shelby Schwartz

Hey, I'm Shelby and I've been an avid writer for about 6 years now. I mainly write about death and dabble in horror. I enjoy some poetry every now and then. I enjoy getting my words on paper and sharing my thoughts. Hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.