Poets logo

You Showed Me

Poetry: Love / Friends with Benefits

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
You Showed Me
Photo by Sean Stratton on Unsplash

Showed me

You showed me I could feel again,

Something other than pain,

You showed me that there are men,

Who could show love the same way,

You showed me a connection,

That I haven't had in a while,

And showed me affection,

That I have long desired.

In this short spell,

You showed me the flaws in myself,

Showed me what parts have moved on,

And which parts are still not gone.

You have showed me,

Where lies my immaturity,

Without being a person who I was connected to,

Pointing out those same things I do.

But the problem is,

Is I like you,

You've showed me your albums,

And what are your favorite shoes.

You've shown me you are caring,

And how you have a big heart,

You've showed me there's no point in comparing,

And how your muscles are a work of art.

You've shown me desire,

And respect through my needs,

You got me to feel a little bit of fire,

Even if after it all I still bleed.

You've shown me my lust for you,

Which I didn't think was a possibility,

You showed me that you thought I was cute,

And that someone else could be close to me.

You've showed me I can like someone,

Showed me things that attracted me,

And even though this proposition makes me want to run,

I don't want a relationship; I just what I need,

You showed me where your heart lies,

And I know it's not with me,

I didn't expect it with the time that has gone by,

But you are who I still want to see.

So, I will show you a better side,

With the same care and closeness,

And I will abide,

To what this actually is.

I will show you who I am,

And we can just enjoy each other's presence,

Forget about overthinking a plan,

I have come to an equal acceptance.

I will show you that I do like you,

And I hope I won't fall,

But to tell you the truth,

I want to be around you that's all.

So, it's good this all came out today,

It may have felt originally like pain,

Sometime feelings fall into the grey,

But now I know the expectation to maintain.

list
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.