Poets logo

You're deaf to all

Even to me

By Mimi SonnerPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read

You are deaf

deaf Deaf DEAF

Others use their pain for greed

Others use their greed to grieve

But after so long you are DEAF

Pain does not belong only to you

Everyone has it, and I carry so much

Yet in silence I die

When I cry, your silence kills me

Either way, I'm dead.

And you're deaf.

Deaf.

DEAF!

If I don't bite my tongue

You bite off my head

I can say the sky is blue

and you argue that it is red

I can't find the words to say

Not in the right order

Not in the right delivery

To make my message come across

It's as if you can't hear me

What can I do?

How can I say it?

When you're deaf

Deaf to me?

heartbreak

About the Creator

Mimi Sonner

Just another liberal arts degree holder looking for career fulfillment in all the wrong places.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mimi SonnerWritten by Mimi Sonner

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.