Poets logo

You Love and Understand

"You rose me to my greatest heights"

By InstinctsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

You brought me here with an open heart.

You sought my soul so (onto you) I would impart.

I've come to remind you of yourself.

In the dark times when you might forget.

I send you my love so you will not fret.

I shield you and protect you from harm.

Like you did for me when I was coming along.

You kept all the shadows at bay.

While you nurtured my heart so it knew how 2 play.

I owe all of the best of who I am.

To having had you for a mother and a friend.

You rose me to my greatest heights.

You loved me tender and you held me tight.

Then at times when I needed 2 learn.

You'd realign and become very stern.

Great strength was required to raise a son like me.

But you had what it took, for your heart was the key.

A heart so big, open and pure.

Like your loving smile, heart aches cure.

You always smiled when you looked my way.

Every time you did, it always made my day.

For you, I am grateful and blessed.

To you I must pay all of my chest.

My heart and my breath, both must honor you.

Along this paths test, I hope I am as strong as you.

I strive to meet the example you set.

To thrive since I'm alive, while my heart is kept.

Kept in rhythm to my own souls beat.

Immersed in the prism of spirits rainbow treat.

Yes you have showered me with the colours of life.

You love and understand and simply live life right.

--AJL--Instincts--

"It's not about what you know, it's about what you feel. Listen to your Instincts!"

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Instincts

Writing since the age of 7. My soul longs to put pen to paper and cast my melodies into the air. I am here to remind you of yourself and all the greatness within you. I am here to remind you of your Instincts. Listen to your Instincts!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.