Poets logo

You Grew In My Heart Instead Of My Tummy

Fostering Our Love

By Blue DymondPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
You Grew In My Heart Instead Of My Tummy
Photo by Lisa Cope on Unsplash

It was well into the night when we first received the call

They explained what we’d be dealing with

and asked if we were willing.

I didn’t care about your gender, color, nothing at all.

I didn’t care how you came I just wanted you

I always thought I knew everything about the feeling of love;

Up until the moment that I laid eyes on you

I thought I had it all figured out,

The way those types of feelings grew.

But nobody can understand how I felt

As we stared at each other new

You staring at me, me staring at you

I still remember the smell of the room

As they pushed you closer and you gripped my finger tight

Remember the shock of the news

that you were mine for all my life

You didn't grow in my stomach like I thought you would

I didn't pick your name or who your father was

You were given to me to love for forever

You walked out with me and now we are forever tethered.

My son, my friend, my whole wide world

There's no other love like this that I've shared

Watching the rose in your cheeks

And the pucker of your lips

The light brown curls with the hints of red in it

You were more perfect then all of my dreams

I loved you before I knew your name

Knew of your gender, your colors, or parents

You aren't mine biologically but my loves the same

You're mine in ways that matters, ways that don’t need to be explained

So as I sit and allow our skin to skin

While your bio mom watches our bond begin.

I'll smile down at you as you look up at me

And for the very first time I understood my life's meaning

That beautiful baby skin and those pure brown eyes

The love in your stare even though it's the beginning of your time

Waiting for your birth was life changing yet hard to endure

But it was all worth the journey since now you're mine and I'm yours.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Blue Dymond

A little bit of everything from Psyche, to fiction, to poems. Come take a look around, we're all friends here!

Instagram: @thatgirlbluedymond

Facebook: Blue Dymond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.