Poets logo

You Gotta Be Strong

This time you won't leave me twisting in the wind, without any friends, with my hopes up high, begging your habits to end.

By Natalie Marie Stefani-RicePublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Butterfly Effect by Redbubble

So, now you say you want me to be strong?

And what's that gonna do?

Make up for all the rotten things you did wrong?

Or some how break us even?

You want me strong? Ok, here it goes...

I have had enough, I'm leaving!

.

Yeah, you keep saying you prepared me for this.

That I should have seen this coming.

Thought we were preparing for our lives.

Remember it wasn't me who was running.

You knew this was going down back in the beginning,

Right after you made me your wife.

You watched me struggle with the day to day misery, the aggravation, the turmoil and strife.

Trying to do right by you by being your wife.

Fuck it now, I think, such is life.

You don't like my hostility?

You say my attitude sucks?

Guess that's how the story ends, both of us down on our luck.

Seriously though, give me just a minute of your time before I scurry and go....

I need you to know, the way this will go, the way this plays out.

In case it didn't show, you lost my respect the minute you decided to disrespect and step out.

And without a doubt, in case it doesn't show, I need you to know,

That I am lost and I am alone and filled with nothing but neglect.

So, I'm asking you to redirect... to think about this in retrospect, take a moment and reflect.

Why have you done me so wrong?

You answer me in circles, too many details, the stories are way too long.

I need your honesty here, it's perfectly clear that this is our last dance, they are playing our song.

But now you say you want me to be strong?

Yeah, I have had enough, I'm leaving!

How's that for strong?

This time you won't get the chance to spin me in circles, chasing your shadows around.

This time you won't leave me twisting in the wind, without any friends, with my hopes up high, begging your habits to end.

No more staying up late and making me wait to unlock the gate for you to stagger right in always smelling like sin,

No more of your harsh words to bruise my spirit, no more exaggerated lies to crush my soul, no more cock eyed loose ends.

So, in case you haven't heard, and in case you didn't know, I have had enough and now it's time to go.

You gotta be strong, you must carry on.

So, please, tell me, how about this for strong?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Natalie Marie Stefani-Rice

So please grant me peace from the demons I see. They crowd me and stalk me and won't let me be.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.