Poets logo

You Don't Understand

poem

By Muhammad IqbalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
You Don't Understand
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

You don't understand,

You never do.

I try to explain,

But I can't get through to you.

I tell you the truth

That I feel so depressed,

But you say I'm okay.

I thought you would know best.

So I sit in my room,

Locked in my personal hell,

While you pretend it's all good

And I do as well.

But I'm not okay,

And my friends know that too,

But you can't seem to see

What is right in front of you.

You say it's a phase,

Blame my friends for it all,

But you don't understand

That this is not their fault.

I can't live like this.

I can't live this life,

And as much as I tried,

I can't end it with a knife.

I know you've been through this,

That you ached so much more,

But I can't help but wonder

Don't you know me at all!?

I thought you would get it,

Why I'm acting this way,

But you don't listen

To what I have to say.

You just ignore me,

Pretend I'm alright.

I want this to end.

I feel like I might...

But I'm not as strong

As I'd like to be,

So I’ll act all normal

While I wait patiently

For my time to come

And I hope that it's soon.

My friends understand;

I wish you could, too.

But you don't understand,

And I know it's not fair,

But sometimes I feel

Like you don't even care.

I feel all alone,

But I know that's not true.

I have all my friends,

But I wish I had you.

I know with my friends

I'll make it through this,

Even though it feels like

My life's falling to bits.

You don't understand.

You never do,

But I hope with their help

I can make it through...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.