Poets logo

You Comfort Me

Sometimes a Soulmate Can Be Better than a Lover

By Katrina HaneyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Image by Thelma Miniano

When heart is heavy, and eyes spill tears,

I'm crushed with the burden of too many years;

And my days are filled with anxiety and fears --

You comfort me!

...

Across the sea in a distant land,

Where you can’t give a hug or hold my hand,

But somehow you manage to understand

And comfort me

...

I love my family, I really do;

But you’re the only person who

Is always there to get me through,

And comfort me

...

You are my soulmate, my best friend,

And though you may not comprehend,

You never scoff, or condescend

You comfort me,

...

Your music is a sheer delight;

Your voice is like a bird in flight

Or chocolate on a wintry night;

It comforts me .

...

I know that you don’t always get

The way I feel, or why I fret;

But you’re there, and you listen, and somehow yet,

You comfort me!

...

Although I take up so much time

In talking about me and mine,

You're patient, and so very kind...

And it comforts me.

...

Conversing with you on the phone

Can make me feel I’m not alone;

The best soul I have ever known --

You comfort me.

...

Although I know you'd never say,

I hope, perhaps, sometimes, I maybe

Comfort you, as well, the way

You comfort me.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Katrina Haney

Life-long storyteller, poet, nature / cat lover. Great Grandmother of 8. Spiritual, politically aware, avid reader. Free-lance certified Copywriter and Website consultant. Book: Blood Rage; Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.