Poets logo

You Cheated

A Love Poem

By Sakoli Norman Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
You Cheated
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

I loved you, helped you, and I worked hard every day

Appreciating you, caring about you, honoring you in every way

Sweaty clothes, gas tank half empty, so was my bank account

It was my soul I traded out because it was you that I was thinking about

You Cheated!

So Why did you betray my trust?

Speak with hate? I must

And because of my lust

I didn't trust my gut

You Cheated!

By Thought Catalog on Unsplash
By Tom Pumford on Unsplash

Those memories of mountains turned to rivers of tears

Im trying to engineer my happiness, but nothing is there

Im trying to hold on to my life but this rope is tearing now

With every breath in my body it's like my lungs are wearing out

Because you cheated!

By Ayo Ogunseinde on Unsplash

I think about all the work I put into this relationship

But you sailed in a different direction because to you this was a basic ship

I used to iron your clothes, make you dinner, wake you up for work

Budget your money, the irony, I guess you did show me what I'm worth

Because you cheated!

By Ben White on Unsplash

But guess what It doesn't matter because in time you'll see

They wont love you like I did they wont treat you like me

One day this will happen to you and you won't believe it

Karma will come back to you I hope your ready to receive it

One day you'll be seated

Your soul will be defeated

Because you have come to realize that your partner has cheated

Thank You for reading everyone. I strive to get better with my content every time I write. Feedback or a tip would be greatly appreciated. Happy writing everyone!

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sakoli Norman

The world is a blank book, what you choose to fill in that blank is the purest form of creation.

Aspire to create and Create to inspire!

Check out my Instagram! @writingisthriving

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.