Poets logo

You Can't Spin Gold in One Draft

This poem is about being a perfectionist and how I get most of my motivation to write late at night.

By Amanda ZylstraPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

You can’t spin gold in one draft.

Editing takes time and hours of dissecting each word.

Working in the magic of your delivery.

It’s not about rhyming for me.

It’s about making others feel your emotions through the words you use.

Writers speak in a language that only they are fluent in.

It’s a magical place they are allowed to travel in their subconscious.

A place where anything and everything is possible.

If you can dream it, you can be it.

You can’t spin gold in one draft.

Magic does not come from using universal words that could apply to anyone.

There is nothing personal or spectacular about that.

If you don’t stay up all night writing,

No one is going to stay up all night reading your creation.

There must be exposure.

There must be heart behind your words.

These are the things that make your work worth reading.

This is what sets me apart from the crowd.

The reader can feel and hear my raw emotions.

I am not writing to grade school children about an elephant.

Having your own style of writing is a must.

To be a good writer, you must be yourself at all times.

There are words that race through my mind at 3 am on a Thursday night when I am far from sleep.

These are the words of my soul speaking to me.

They whisper in my hear like a ghost.

The words speak to me about events I have encountered in this lifetime.

They speak to me at a time when the rest of the world is still.

Only cats are awake at this hour by choice, and perhaps some graveyard shift employees.

Cats hunt their prey best at night.

Only they can see in the dark.

Their glowing eyes light up the night atmosphere.

I find truths during this time period when the world is dark and silent.

This is when I can best hear my own voice.

It tells me you can’t spin gold in one draft.

No one will be impressed.

You must strive for perfection.

You must push yourself to your limit and find the perfection that you crave.

You know it's inside you.

A trust artists work is never complete.

They will rewrite until the day they die.

And because of this, I say "You can't spin gold in one draft"

*This poem is featured in my upcoming book, Peeling Sanity

Check out my Author Page on Facebook!

Check out my Poetry!

Check out my Music Articles!

Check out my Beauty Articles!

Check out my Makeup Articles!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Zylstra

Cat Lover, Poetry Writer, Tea Drinker, Skincare and Beauty Product Obsessed. Check out my poetry collection "Passing Skeletons" available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.