Poets logo

You Are What You Eat

Be cautious of the biased influence you are surrounded by every day.

By Elias WayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
You Are What You Eat
Photo by Kajetan Sumila on Unsplash

Master fed me bread, yet I remained a man.

In flesh and blood I stood my ground

And upheld who I am.

Master fed me wine, and still I could recall

Who of all had brought me up and

Why I was here at all.

But when Master fed to me the media,

Full of viewpoints and opinions,

I fell blind when faced with its ideas

A radically newborn minion.

My ghostly Master still feeds my faceless mouth

With not a drop of ill remorse.

I thank my Master for my mind free of scouth,

And servitude which I endorse.

By Amirr Zolfaqari on Unsplash

*** A Note from the Author:

It is important to maintain a healthy diet. Try new things before you decide you don't like them. It's okay to have discrepancies among your peers or different opinions when it comes to social, economic, or political issues, but it's never a bad thing to just sit down and talk with someone who holds a different perspective. Try to understand their perspective, it's not permanent, it's okay to have discussions and disagree in the end. A lot of people nowadays lack the ability to listen or hold an open mind, and it's very important to do so. You don't have to agree with the other side, but polarizing yourself on the other end makes you just as good as those you resent so harshly. The biggest issue that separates so many people is that once someone has decided that they're right, they're right, and they refuse to talk to anyone who thinks differently. People will always disagree, and attempting to make everyone think the same thing is an impossible and immoral feat. The only way anything works out is when two opposing sides discover a middle ground from where they can both operate and work in harmony. It will never be perfect, and it will never be the way you want. Two sides that can not find the middle ground will both always be wrong. So someday you'll have to decide if you want to be wrong or fair, and in turn, accepted.

social commentary

About the Creator

Elias Way

I write stories for you to read :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elias WayWritten by Elias Way

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.