Poets logo

You Are Not Your Thoughts

a comforting mantra inside the cranial whirlwind

By FIFEPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
You Are Not Your Thoughts
Photo by Milad Fakurian on Unsplash

When I'm caught in the melee,

comfort seems a luxurious concept

unattainable,

intended only for the privileged.

I'm narrow - a sliver

a fish hook dragged through sand and seaweed.

In lack of safety,

stability,

simple survival seems the best case scenario.

In the end, I can gather what's left of me,

if anything at all, and recover.

The scattered internal world speaks ceaselessly.

A running dialogue that analyzes, categorizes

and criticizes - almost entirely myself and

my own performance

in the battle.

I hear it,

it sounds like truth.

I hear it,

it sounds like my voice.

With such consistent presence,

why would I doubt it?

It knows all that I know.

Its experiences match mine exactly.

The thoughts seem a deeply embedded and vital

part of the self.

But,

I found a vessel I can ride, to descend,

and see what's underneath.

From this protected position I see layers

of consciousness, and as they separate

I recognize my thoughts as nonsense -

electrical firings, reactionary sparks of meaningless energy,

sent from the depths of an endlessly dark abyss.

I travel through them, not without difficulty.

Thoughts float up with urgency,

demanding my attention, in the guise

of my own voice. I discard and descend.

Under it all, I find stillness, and in the

strength I find in stillness,

I sense myself there, and I find

comfort

there

comfort that I generated, crafted

with love

just for me.

inspirationalsurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

FIFE

The written word is everything. I love to read, and I love to write - primarily fiction and poetry, but I'm also psyched to learn about pretty much any topic and to share my expertise in music and music business.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.