Poets logo

You Are Not My Friend

Struggle Poem

By McKenzie McQuadePublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
You Are Not My Friend
Photo by Olivier Collet on Unsplash

This thing I've been living with all of my life sits upon my shoulders and I call it my head

For a girl I consider it a pretty case for another thing I like to call my brain

The trouble is this thing can sometimes keep me from falling asleep in my own bed

For there is a thing in my chest that sometimes causes quite the strain

This thing inside my chest is something I like to call my heart

When it's full of joy it likes to work with my brain and create beautiful works of art

But if what's inside my head is feeling lonely and dark

There will be no ambition for me to start

social commentarysurreal poetryart
1

About the Creator

McKenzie McQuade

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    I love it!! Well done!😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.