Poets logo

You Are A Creative Genius

A poem about what every creative person goes through

By Jack OtisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
You Are A Creative Genius
Photo by Jade Scarlato on Unsplash

I woke up today like every other day

My mind is bursting, full of ideas

I want to write, to draw, to paint, to create

I just want to let all these ideas out

So I rush to my studio

I sit at my computer and try to type

But as I type my fingers seem to freeze

And I just feel like to cry

I gulp a bottle of water and gasp

Oh! Is this what they call creative block?

I heard this is what every artist goes through

I thought art was fun not to work

Then I came to a realization

I don’t have to sit and wait for ideas to come

Forget about muses and inspiration

Just do whatever I can do and call it a day

The little you do today may look like nothing

A stupid song you record or a weird poem you scribble

A trash article you write and leave in the drafts

But just keep going, that’s how you become a creative genius

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jack Otis

Jack is a freelance writer with over 7 years of experience writing online on platforms like Vocal and Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.