Poets logo

You.

Poem for you

By vv dssdPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

This morning I woke up next to someone else.

I rolled over, half blind without my glasses and thought it was you for a second.

For a moment I felt at home, the thought of being next to you was a comforting thought.

I remember how not even a week ago I awoke next to you, greeted with sloppy morning kisses.

But his snoring awoke me from my day dream of you.

His choppy brown strangled his face as he tossed and turned, awaking me from my not so deep slumber.

His hands grazed my side and pulled me closer to his warm body.

As I lay there entangled in him, he raised a hand to move my shoulders next to his own.

His stubby knuckles looked like yours, images of waking up next to you rushed through my head.

His facial hair was the same as yours, his forearms looked like yours, every one of his details that were illuminated by the soft morning light reminded me of you.

I needed to breathe and escape his grasp and any thoughts I had of you.

How pathetic it was that I was thinking of you while next to someone else.

Will I be forever plagued with memories of you wherever I go?

I think part of me has belonged to you since we first met that my heart dug itself out of the hole I shoved it in and handed itself to your awaiting chest.

Because there are still things I want to do and even though we’re living in a war zone and the battlefields, where we become cold and bloody, is no place to start a love story.

But timing, fate, circumstance, those things haven’t been kind to us so we just have to whisper screw the constellations.

As we melt into one being like our souls so desire and loving you is something that would be impossible to regret and I’d let you win my heart in every single universe because your my anchor, your my home.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

vv dssd

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.