Poets logo

Yonkers Poet

Gabriel Costas

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Welcome to The Vibe! You know the vibes! The poetry vibes!

Words are super important, we must be careful in how we use and interpret them as words have power! Words have the power to heal or destroy so be very careful in your choice of words.

I now present to you a poem written by my son Gabe. I was only 23 years old when I had you and I thank God and my Angels for sending you to me. You were a great pain to carry weighing in at 10lbs. 15oz!

This tells me you are meant to be someone great in this world. To say that your Mama is proud of you, Gabe that is to say the least. You have become my protector and your support during this time has been a blessing for me. Mama loves you and Mia so much!

You can catch this poem on The Vibe Podcast! Available on many platforms! You’ll see my mug! Season 2 will be back in February of 22!

Without further ado, please enjoy Yonkers Poet, by Gabriel Costas.

Built from the same bricks

Of the Bronx projects,

How do your lights shine as bright

As the one in Manhattan?

You’re a dumpster,

Adorned with roses and bows

Pretty in a way yes,

But are you not blind to your own

Reeking filth?

Did you think that the “aesthetics” would take away from the rats that also live within you ?

No.

They serve as a mere formality because you tried to clean up your mess as you made it.

So, now I and the rest who can see past materialism can smell your undying stench

While everyone else sits with their noses

Pinched…

Oh!

But who doesn’t smile when they see a dandelion growing from the concrete?

It’s like,

The glimmer of hope that we

All possess in our heart,

Gold with the flame of what could have been,

Just for someone to snatch it from its roots, and leave it to decay…

There will be more poetry coming up in Season 2! There will be more of everything! This was our Indie project and I am super proud in our progress.

Starting your own business at any time can be quite difficult, however starting a project during a Covid pandemic while trying to break away from a Toxic Family was hell on Earth, but we are survivors. My children are strong and this company is for them.

Gabe is now a senior in High School and has made me super proud. Being a single Mother has had its challenges but I have no regrets, my children are beyond worth it! They are my gifts and it is my honor to have changed my life for them! Our future is so bright now, I couldn’t have done it without those two but I will most certainly be the loud mom at Gabe’s graduation ceremony.

You can also follow Gabe’s progress as he learns to play guitar on The Vibe Podcast’s YouTube channel! My children are artists and I must expand their horizons in that regard because Art makes us happy!

We love to make things on our own, we love art, words, music just anything that has to do with creativity. Give yourself a hobby and you will never be bored!

They say if you can make it in New York, you can make it anywhere. But if you make it outta Yonkers... boy you are blessed because the inner city of Yonkers, New York as of right now though adorned with lights and up and coming NYC style apartments is a set up for failure. I make it my business to still take the bus, get off in the hood and I say a prayer for everyone I come in contact with because I see nothing but pain and sadness. We must do better.

Sharing our story is step 1.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.