Poets logo

Yesterday, Today

A Poem of Changes

By Hannah PerezPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Yesterday, I lived in a house with three rooms and no one cared because we were happy to share.

Today, we live in a house where we argue and fight because one room just isn’t enough.

Yesterday, we had one T.V and one channel and since it only played the news all day you only watched at 7:00pm saturday for one movie.

Today, there are flat screens in every room and over a hundred channels you can flip through.

Yesterday, I read a book for fun and when bored I played outside in the sun and other kids also came out and it was there we spent the whole day.

Today, Everyone is inside killing their eyes on screens and playing their x-box, nintendo Wii’s , and high flies.

Yesterday, I could walk down the street and wave hello to everyone I would meet.

Today, I walk silent with eyes downcast as unfriendly stares watch as I pass.

Yesterday, I had never heard of suicides or city slums.

Today, I must listen and learn about each and every one.

Yesterday, I was social and talked to everyone in my class.

Today, I must be quiet and sit in the back because this day could be my last.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Perez

Hannah Perez is currently a college student studying English and Music. She has been writing poetry and short stories since she was in Elementary school, and has never stopped. At her college, she is in a service fraternity Alpha Phi Omega.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.