Poets logo

Yellow

Almost Golden

By Poppy Published 8 months ago 1 min read
17
Maria Orlova on Pexels

Warmth. Sunlight. Autumn leaves.

The sand spread out on a coastline.

The laughter of a Friday afternoon.

The hope exhaled on a child’s dandelion wish.

The reassurance in a genuine smile.

A bird’s feather, soft as silk.

Butter spread on pikelets, served on a lazy Sunday morning.

Gold tweaked to be more affectionate, easier to hold.

Fond familiarity. Calming comfort. Rare contentment.

Something I am usually too cautious to name - happiness.

You.

-For my Mum♡

❀❀❀❀❀

Check out my writing prompt here and please join in!

And the other poem I wrote for it:

surreal poetrynature poetryinspirational
17

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Awww, this was such a wonderful tribute to your mom! My favourite line was The hope exhaled on a child’s dandelion wish!

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Gorgeous, I love how vivid everything felt!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Very soft form of yellow, which usually registers to me as so acidic and strident. Really beautiful!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Oh I adore this. “ The hope exhaled on a child’s dandelion wish” This is utter love and just lovely. 👏👏👏

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    "Gold, tweaked to be more affectionate" - I love this bit! 😁

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Love your golden poem! Great job!

  • The sand spread out on a coastline… sweet happiness! I’m sure you’re a source of happiness to your mother too!

  • Sian N. Clutton8 months ago

    How endearing! What a sweet tribute! 😊

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    That last word, kind of caught in my metaphorical throat. I don't know why, but suddenly tying all of that warmth to this figure like that had quite the emotional impact.

  • What a beautiful tribute to your Mum. I loved this, Poppy.

  • Loved this line- The hope exhaled on a child’s dandelion wish.❤️📝👍 I used to make Dandelion wishes😊

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Love nature poetry!!! This is so inspirational!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.